来自中国的研究表明,导致COVID-19的病毒抗体在感染后三周内开始下降。

曾希望患有COVID-19的人可能对进一步感染产生长期免疫力。但是,有关IgG抗体水平(有助于免疫的抗体类型)的研究表明,情况可能并非如此。

研究人员对中国确诊的COVID-19感染的1,500例入院医院进行了研究。这些患者入院后至少21天进行了抗体检测。测试时,几乎十分之一的人没有检测到针对SARS-CoV-2病毒的IgG抗体。另一项对37人SARS-CoV-2测试呈阳性但无症状的研究发现,感染后两个月,40%没有可检测的IgG抗体。

研究结果表明,从COVID-19中恢复的许多人可能仍会形成长期免疫力,但少数人可能仍然容易受到将来的感染。疫苗训练免疫系统识别病毒,并被认为可以赋予持久的免疫力。因此,这些数据促进了人们对安全有效疫苗的追捧。

这种说法的来源是什么?

每日电讯报 是两项研究报告的众多新闻媒体之一。 之一 已在预打印服务器上发布,这意味着它尚未被医学期刊接受或接受同行评审。 另一个 发表在同行评审的《自然医学》杂志上。

这种说法的依据是什么?

更大的出版前研究 包括在中国武汉市入院的1470人,其症状为COVID-19,并且对该病毒呈阳性反应。 21天后,他们接受了IgG抗体的血液检查。绝大多数(90%)具有IgG抗体。

然后,研究人员对武汉的3,832名医护人员进行了抗体测试,他们没有经过病毒检测,但假定接触该病毒。只有4%表现出IgG抗体,与一般人群的IgG抗体大致相同,在该人群中感染水平预计会低得多。但是,由于尚未确定医护人员是否感染,因此很难得出某些结论。

第二项研究 来自中国的包括37名无症状者,他们在接触者追踪期间检测出COVID-19呈阳性,并被送往医院隔离。三到四周后,大约80%的IgG抗体呈阳性,这与37名有症状感染者的比较组相同。但是,大约八周后的一项追踪研究显示,无症状患者的40%失去了IgG抗体,而有症状感染的患者只有13%。这可能表明有症状感染的人比没有症状或症状很少的人更有可能获得更长的免疫力。但是,这些只是确定结论的基础。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

在四月份, 英国广播公司的新闻 引用世界卫生组织技术负责人Maria van Kerkhove博士的话,他警告说抗体测试的价值,因为不知道感染SARS-CoV-2的人是否会对进一步感染免疫。

CDC 还指出,尚不清楚从COVID-19中恢复过来的人是否会再次受到感染,并强调所有人的感染控制和社会疏远措施。

 

引用

  1. Liu,T等。武汉市SARS-CoV-2 IgG抗体的流行-对产生针对SARS-CoV-2的持久保护性抗体的能力的暗示。 medRxiv 2020.06.13.20130252;土井: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.06.13.20130252 (于2020年6月30日访问)。
  2. Long,Q等。无症状SARS-CoV-2感染的临床和免疫学评估。 Nat Med(2020)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/s41591-020-0965-6

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

参考文献

      1. 疾病控制中心。 2019年冠状病毒病(COVID-19)。 经常问的问题.

Antibodies to the virus that causes COVID-19 start to drop within three weeks of infection, research from China suggests.

It had been hoped that people who’d had COVID-19 might develop long-term immunity to further infection. However, studies looking at the levels of IgG antibodies, the type of antibodies that contribute to immunity, suggest this may not be the case.

Researchers studied 1,500 people admitted to hospitals in China with confirmed COVID-19 infection. These patients had antibody tests at least 21 days after admission. Almost 1 in 10 had no detectable IgG antibodies to the SARS-CoV-2 virus when tested. Another study of 37 people with a positive SARS-CoV-2 test but no symptoms, found that 40% had no detectable IgG antibodies two months after the infection.

The findings suggest that many people who recover from COVID-19 may still develop long-term immunity, but a few could remain vulnerable to future infection. Vaccines train the immune system to recognise the virus and are thought, potentially, to confer longer-lasting immunity. So, these data boosts the hunt for a safe and effective vaccine.

Where did the story come from?

The Daily Telegraph is one of a number of news outlets that reported on the two studies. One was published on a pre-print server, meaning it has not been accepted by a medical journal or peer-reviewed. The other is published in the peer-reviewed journal Nature Medicine.

What is the basis for the claim?

The larger, pre-publication study included 1,470 people admitted to hospitals in Wuhan, China, with symptoms of COVID-19, and who tested positive for the virus. After 21 days they had blood tests for IgG antibodies. The vast majority (90%) had IgG antibodies.

The researchers then gave antibody tests to 3,832 healthcare staff from Wuhan who had not been tested for the virus, but where exposure to the virus was assumed. Only 4% demonstrated IgG antibodies, around the same as the general population, where infection levels were expected to be much lower levels. However, it is difficult to form certain conclusions from this as infection among healthcare workers was not confirmed.

The second study from China included 37 asymptomatic people who had tested positive for COVID-19 during contact tracing, and been admitted to hospital for isolation purposes. Around 80% tested positive for IgG antibodies three to four weeks later, the same as a comparison group of 37 people with symptomatic infection. However, a follow-up study around eight weeks later showed 40% of asymptomatic people had lost their IgG antibodies, compared with only 13% of those with symptomatic infection. This could suggest that people with symptomatic infection are more likely to gain longer immunity than those with absent or minimal symptoms. But these are small numbers on which to base firm conclusions.

What do trusted sources say?

In April, BBC News quoted technical lead Dr Maria van Kerkhove from the World Health Organisation who cautioned the value of antibody tests because it is unknown whether people who have contracted SARS-CoV-2 will be immune to further infection.

The CDC also stated that it is not yet known whether people who recover from COVID-19 can get infected again, and emphasise infection control and social distancing measures for all.

 

Citation

  1. Liu, T et al. Prevalence of IgG antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 in Wuhan – implications for the ability to produce long-lasting protective antibodies against SARS-CoV-2. medRxiv 2020.06.13.20130252; doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.06.13.20130252 (Accessed 30 June 2020).
  2. Long, Q et al. Clinical and immunological assessment of asymptomatic SARS-CoV-2 infections. Nat Med (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41591-020-0965-6

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Reading list

      1. Centres for Disease Control. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Frequently Asked Questions.