研究人员已经开始测试针对感冒的家庭疗法是否可以帮助缓解COVID-19的早期症状。

多年来,冲洗鼻孔和用盐水漱口已被用作治疗感冒症状的一种方法。

一项对60多名患有感冒的成年人进行的小型先导研究发现,大多数使用盐水冲洗的人都认为这对他们的症状有所影响。他们还发现,与没有使用盐水冲洗的人相比,他们的感冒持续了不到一两天。这项研究中的某些人是由较早的人类冠状病毒引起的感冒。

虽然这项研究确实表明对感冒患者进行盐水冲洗有一定好处,但我们不能确定其中的某些原因并非归因于人们认为其症状有所改善,因为他们希望盐水冲洗会有所帮助。

相同的研究人员正在对有COVID-19早期症状的人重复研究。 COVID-19是由一种比引起普通感冒的冠状病毒更严重的新型冠状病毒(SARS-CoV-2)引起的,因此我们尚不知道冲洗盐是否有帮助。

这种说法的来源是什么?

新闻媒体包括 晚间标准 在英国发表了有关新盐水研究的故事。该标准的标题暗示着研究已经支持了该理论,而实际上这项研究才刚刚开始。在完成盐水冲洗之前,我们不知道是否有任何效果。

这种说法的依据是什么?

爱丁堡大学的研究人员进行了盐水冲洗和普通感冒的试验,并开始对COVID-19人群进行类似的试验。

他们的研究很小 试验研究 来自61名感冒但原本健康的成年人的结果。参与者在过去48小时内出现了症状,并被随机分配以含漱液漱口和清理鼻子,或者只是继续做他们通常做的感冒治疗。

他们发现,与未使用盐水的参与者相比,使用盐水的参与者较少出现咳嗽,充血和感冒症状持续时间缩短一到两天。

这种影响的一部分可能归因于那些希望在接受研究的治疗(盐溶液)之后比没有治疗的情况下感觉更好的人。

新的冠状病毒大流行促使研究人员回顾他们的研究结果,因为一些普通感冒是由较老类型的冠状病毒引起的。当仅看着15名因冠状病毒引起的感冒时,他们也发现了用盐水漱口和冲洗后症状减轻的趋势。这导致研究人员认为值得在COVID-19人群中重复这项研究。

研究人员是 邀请 苏格兰的18岁以上有COVID-19症状的人在过去48小时内开始参加这项新研究。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

目前不建议用漱口水和洗鼻来改善COVID-19的症状或预防感染。的 哈佛大学陈赞公共卫生学院印度研究中心说:“没有证据表明定期漱口[盐水或盐水]可以保护人们免受新的冠状病毒的感染。尽管这可能有助于缓解喉咙痛,但这种做法不会阻止病毒进入您的肺部。”

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Ramalingam S等。高渗盐水鼻腔冲洗和漱口液用于普通感冒的开放性,标签随机化的试验性开放试验。 Sci Rep 9,1015(2019)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-018-37703-3
  2. Ramalingam S等。高渗盐水鼻腔冲洗和漱口应被视为COVID-19的治疗选择。全球卫生杂志。 2020年; 10:010332。 http://www.jogh.org/documents/issue202001/jogh-10-010332.htm

参考文献

  1. Elvis-Covid-19研究网站 https://www.ed.ac.uk/usher/elvis-covid-19 (于2020年7月2日访问)。

Researchers have started to test whether a home remedy for the common cold might help with early symptoms of COVID-19.

Rinsing the nostrils and gargling with salt water has been used by some as a way of treating cold symptoms for many years.

A small pilot study in just over 60 adults with colds found that most people who used salt water rinsing thought it made a difference to their symptoms. They also found that their cold lasted a day or two less than people who did not use salt water rinsing. Some of the people in this study had colds caused by earlier human coronaviruses.

While this study does suggest some benefit of saline rinsing for people with colds, we can’t be sure that some of this wasn’t down to people rating their symptoms as improved because they expected the salt water rinse to be helpful.

The same researchers are repeating their study in people with early symptoms of COVID-19. COVID-19 is caused by a new and more serious type of coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) than those that cause the common cold, so we don’t yet know whether salt rinsing will help.

Where did the story come from?

News outlets including the Evening Standard in the UK carried stories about the new salt water study. The Standard’s headline implies that research already backs up the theory, when in fact the study has only just started. We won’t know if salt water rinsing has any effect until it has been completed.

What is the basis for the claim?

Researchers from the University of Edinburgh carried out the trial of salt water rinsing and the common cold and are starting a similar trial in people with COVID-19.

Their study was a small pilot study with results from 61 adults with a cold but who were otherwise healthy. The participants had developed symptoms in the last 48 hours and were randomly allocated to either gargle and clear their noses with a salt water solution, or to just carry on doing whatever they would normally do to treat a cold.

They found that participants who used the salt water solution reported fewer coughs, less congestion, and one to two days’ shorter duration of cold symptoms than those who didn’t.

Some of this impact may have been down to people expecting to feel better after receiving the treatment being studied (the salt solution) than when they have no treatment.

The new coronavirus pandemic prompted the researchers to look back at their results, as some common colds are caused by older types of coronavirus. When just looking at the 15 people whose colds were caused by coronaviruses, they also showed a trend for reduction in symptoms with the salt water gargling and rinsing. This led the researchers to think that it was worth repeating the study in people with COVID-19.

The researchers are inviting people over 18 in Scotland with symptoms of COVID-19 that started in the previous 48 hours to take part in the new study.

What do trusted sources say?

Gargling and nose-washing are not currently recommended to improve the symptoms of COVID-19 or to prevent infection. The Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health India Research Centre says: “There is no evidence that regularly gargling [saltwater or saline] has protected people from infection with the new coronavirus. While this may help soothe a sore throat, this practice will not prevent the virus from entering your lungs.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Ramalingam S et al. A pilot, open labelled, randomised controlled trial of hypertonic saline nasal irrigation and gargling for the common cold. Sci Rep 9, 1015 (2019). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-018-37703-3
  2. Ramalingam S et al. Hypertonic saline nasal irrigation and gargling should be considered as a treatment option for COVID-19. Journal of Global Health. 2020; 10: 010332. http://www.jogh.org/documents/issue202001/jogh-10-010332.htm

Reading list

  1. Elvis-Covid-19 study website https://www.ed.ac.uk/usher/elvis-covid-19 (Accessed 2 July 2020).