隨著各國開始放寬封鎖限制,新爆發的COVID-19引發了人們的擔憂,即我們可能會遭受“第二波”感染。這是什麼意思,這是不可避免的嗎?

期望部分取決於wave“模式”的含義。關於這一波感染尚無科學定義。從本質上講,這意味著第一次感染爆發已得到控制,但感染率已開始再次上升,並繼續上升。模式各不相同,在巴西等一些國家,第一波中的冠狀病毒感染率仍在增加。在韓國等沒有該病毒的國家,在對COVID-19進行了良好控制的一段時間後,本地感染又開始增加。這些模式可以更好地描述為爆發。

在英國城市和其他國家最近發生局部爆發之後,一些人認為,隨著封鎖限制的進一步提高,第二波感染浪潮是不可避免的。但是可以通過當地措施來識別和抑制當地的疫情。在很大程度上將取決於持續的公眾警惕性,對疫情發生地和爆發原因的理解。可以恢復適當的限制以控制病毒。通過期望并快速應對疾病爆發,可以避免發生波瀾。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

英國廣播公司的新聞 是報導第二波可能性的眾多媒體之一。他們引用了 發表在《英國醫學雜誌》上的文章呼籲對英國的準備情況進行審查,並警告政界人士為第二波做準備。

新科學家 是英國有關COVID-19“熱點”的報導來源之一。他們引起了當地公共衛生官員的關注,他們缺乏政府的準確信息,因為測試主要在醫院進行,並且沒有考慮社區費用。

資訊有什麼依據?

BMJ 指出:“現在有幾個國家正在經歷COVID-19爆發。儘管很難預測英國大流行的未來形態,但現有證據表明,當地爆發疫情的可能性越來越大,第二波真正的風險就在此。”作者認為需要緊急審查的英國政策領域包括公共衛生和傳染病控制基礎設施的協調,國際合作以及解決族裔社區不成比例的負擔。

一種 情況 報告 來自世界衛生組織的數據顯示,截至29 六月,全球共報告了1000萬例COVID-19,500,000例死亡。 “最近有新病例記錄,有幾個國家報告了24小時內新病例的最高數量。”在29日之前的7天內,美國,巴西和印度共報告了100,000多起新病例 六月。

當地限制 已在發現感染上升的國家/地區重新引入,包括中國北京周邊的省,澳大利亞的墨爾本和英國的萊斯特。同時,美國的確診病例數量居世界之首,截至6月底,總數為250萬。兩個月前,幾乎所有州的R率都低於1,但現在33個州的R率都高於1。

隨著鎖定限制的放寬,這些發現凸顯了保持警惕,採取洗手和感染控制措施以及保持社會疏遠的必要性,以符合政府的建議。測試和跟踪是這種公共衛生應對措施的重要組成部分。

專家意見

世衛組織6月情況報告指出:“隨著一些國家開始重新開放其社會和經濟,世衛組織大力鼓勵個人,社區和國家採取措施,以減少傳播,擴大檢測和接觸者追踪,並為每種情況提供最佳護理。 ”

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. Adebowale V等。 Covid-19:呼籲對英國第二波的準備情況進行前瞻性回顧,這是致英國所有政黨BMJ 2020領導人的公開信; 369:m2514 https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m2514

閱讀清單

  1. 英國廣播公司新聞頻道的James Gallagher。冠狀病毒:第二波是什麼,一波又來了? https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-53113785 (於2020年7月1日訪問)。
  2. 世界衛生組織。 Covid-19情況報告161,2020年6月29日。 https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200629-covid-19-sitrep-161.pdf?sfvrsn=74fde64e_2 (於2020年7月1日訪問)。

As countries begin to ease lockdown restrictions, new outbreaks of COVID-19 have raised concerns that we might be in for a ‘second wave’ of infections. What does that mean, and is it inevitable?

Expectations partly depend on what the wave ‘pattern’ means. There is no scientific definition of this wave of infection. It essentially implies that the first outbreak of infection was brought under control, but the infection rate has started to rise again and is continuing to rise. Patterns vary and in some countries such as Brazil, rates of coronavirus infection in the first wave are still increasing. In others such as South Korea, who were free of the virus, local infections have started to increase again after a period where COVID-19 was well-controlled. These patterns are better described as outbreaks.

Following recent localised outbreaks in UK cities and other countries, some believe that a second full wave of infection is inevitable as lockdown restrictions lift further. But it is possible to identify and suppress local outbreaks with local measures. Much will depend on continued public vigilance, an understanding of where outbreaks are occurring and what seeds them. Appropriate restrictions can be reinstated to bring the virus brought under control. By expecting and responding quickly to outbreaks there is hope that a wave can be avoided.

Where did the story come from?

BBC News is one of many media outlets who have reported on the possibility of a second wave. They reference a letter published in the British Medical Journal which calls for a review of the UK’s preparedness and warns politicians to prepare for a second wave.

The NewScientist is among sources to have reported on the COVID-19 ‘hotspots’ in the UK. They raise concerns from local public health officials that accurate information from the government is lacking because testing predominantly takes place in the hospital and doesn’t account for community rates.

What is the basis for the claim?

The BMJ letter states: “Several countries are now experiencing COVID-19 flare-ups. While the future shape of the pandemic in the UK is hard to predict, the available evidence indicates that local flare-ups are increasingly likely and a second wave a real risk.” Among UK policy areas that the authors consider need urgent review is coordination of public health and infectious disease control infrastructures, international collaboration, and addressing the disproportionate burden on ethnic communities.

A Situation Report from the World Health Organization showed that as of 29th June, a total of 10 million cases and 500,000 deaths from COVID-19 had been reported globally. There was a “recent record numbers of new cases, with several countries reporting their highest number of new cases in a 24-hour period.” The US, Brazil and India had all reported over 100,000 new cases in the 7 days preceding 29th June.

Local restrictions have been reintroduced in countries where rising infections have been detected, including the province around Beijing in China, Melbourne in Australia and Leicester in the UK. Meanwhile, the US has the world’s highest number of confirmed cases, a total of 2.5 million as of end June. Two months ago nearly all states had an R-rate below 1, but this is now above 1 for 33 states.

As lockdown restrictions are eased, these findings highlight the need to remain vigilant, follow hand washing and infection control measures, and maintain social distancing in line with government recommendations. Testing and tracing is an important part of this public health response.

What do trusted sources say?

The June Situation Report from WHO stated: “As some countries start to reopen their societies and economies, WHO strongly encourages individuals, communities, and nations to take measures to reduce transmission, extend testing and contact tracing, and provide optimal care for every case.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Adebowale V et al. Covid-19: Call for a rapid forward looking review of the UK’s preparedness for a second wave—an open letter to the leaders of all UK political parties BMJ 2020; 369 :m2514 https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m2514

Reading list

  1. James Gallagher, BBC News. Coronavirus: What is a second wave and is one coming? https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-53113785 (Accessed 1 July 2020).
  2. World Health Organization. Covid-19 Situation Report 161, 29 June 2020. https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200629-covid-19-sitrep-161.pdf?sfvrsn=74fde64e_2 (Accessed 1 July 2020).