问:面罩和面罩有哪些不同类型?

答:面罩或面罩有三种类型:

  • 织物口罩,头巾或其他类型的非医疗覆盖物(例如DIY商店的防尘口罩)
  • 医用口罩(有时称为手术口罩)
  • 旨在过滤掉病毒颗粒的医用呼吸器(例如N95呼吸器)

 

问:谁应该戴医用口罩?

答:关于谁应该佩戴哪种类型的口罩或面罩的规定在世界各地有所不同。查看您当地的指南以获取建议。但是,大多数指南建议医用口罩主要由医护人员和照顾已知感染者或有病毒症状的人使用。这就是 世界卫生组织 建议:

  • 医护人员,有COVID-19症状的人和需要护理的人应佩戴医用口罩。
  • 60岁以上的人或有潜在健康状况的人,应在拥挤的空间中佩戴医用口罩,在这些空间中,身体之间的距离很难达到1米或以上,并且COVID-19十分普遍。

 

问:谁应该佩戴非医用口罩或面罩?

答:请查阅您当地的指南以获取建议。世界卫生组织建议:

  • 没有COVID-19症状的人应使用织物和非医用口罩或面罩,在这些情况下,身体之间的距离很难达到一米或以上,并且COVID-19十分普遍。

这可能包括在商店或饭店工作的人,社会工作者或繁忙场所中的任何人。

 

问:应该在哪里戴口罩或面罩?

答:请查阅您当地的指南以获取建议。世界卫生组织建议,在难以保持至少一米距离的繁忙区域中,每个人都应佩戴非医用口罩。这可能包括:

  • 公共交通
  • 商店和工作场所
  • 人群聚集的任何地方

在美国, 疾病预防与控制中心 建议“在家庭以外的人们周围,尤其是在难以维持其他社会疏远措施的情况下,人们在公共场所应佩戴布面罩。”

英格兰和苏格兰,在公共交通工具上必须戴口罩或面罩。 11岁以下(英格兰)或5岁以下(苏格兰)的儿童,残疾人或呼吸困难的人除外。

 

问:口罩或面罩如何工作?

答:非医用口罩通过捕获您呼吸,咳嗽或打喷嚏的一些颗粒而起作用,这些颗粒可能携带病毒颗粒。这意味着,如果您感染了SARS-CoV-2(可导致COVID-19的病毒),则可以向空中喷洒较少的病毒颗粒,人们呼吸的可能性也较小。您可能被感染并传播了SARS -CoV-2没有任何症状。

 

问:使用口罩或面罩的证据是什么?

答: 评论 172项研究表明,包括N95呼吸器在内的口罩可能会“大大降低感染风险”,降低机会最多85%(带口罩的机会为3.1%,而没有口罩的机会为17.4%)。但是,这个结论对呼吸器而言更强,研究人员说,他们对结果的确定性“低”。

但是,有些 医生认为 我们应该在社区中使用口罩或面罩,因为如果正确使用口罩不太可能有害,并且任何有助于减少传播的东西都可能是一件好事。

 

问:口罩能保护您免受冠状病毒感染吗?

答:医用呼吸器紧密配合,并用能过滤掉微小病毒颗粒的织物制成,旨在保护戴口罩的人免受感染。但是,如果您感染了病毒,非医疗口罩或覆盖物对保护他人的作用要比保护戴着口罩的人更有效。当您呼吸时,它们不会过滤掉所有病毒颗粒,并且您的口罩周围可能会留有缝隙,让颗粒进入其中。如果很多人使用口罩,我们更有可能受到保护。

 

问:您应该如何使用非医用口罩?

答:这是世界卫生组织的建议:

  • 首先用肥皂和水或酒精清洁双手
  • 拿起干净的口罩,检查口罩是否损坏或不脏
  • 将其放在脸上,遮住鼻子,嘴巴和下巴
  • 戴口罩时请勿触摸口罩
  • 在用橡皮筋或扎带取下口罩之前,请先清洁双手
  • 取下口罩后再次清洁双手
  • 每天使用后,请在高温下清洗口罩

请记住,单独戴口罩并不能保护您免受COVID-19的侵害。您还应该经常洗手,并在社交上与他人保持距离。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

参考文献

  1. 世界卫生组织:冠状病毒(COVID-19)对公众的建议:何时以及如何使用口罩。 https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/when-and-how-to-use-masks (2020年7月7日访问)。
  2. 疾病预防控制中心:关于布面罩。 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/about-face-coverings.html (2020年7月7日访问)。
  3. DK Chu等。进行物理疏散,戴口罩和保护眼睛以防止人对人传播SARS-CoV-2和COVID-19:系统的回顾和荟萃分析。柳叶刀2020; 395:1973-87。
  4. Greenhalgh T等。在covid-19危机BMJ 2020期间为公众提供的口罩; 369:m1435。

Q: What are the different types of face mask and face covering?

A: There are three types of mask or face covering:

  • A fabric mask, bandana or another type of non-medical covering (such as a dust mask from a DIY store)
  • A medical mask (sometimes called a surgical mask)
  • A medical respirator designed to filter out virus particles (e.g. an N95 respirator)

 

Q: Who should wear a medical face mask?

A: Rules about who should wear which types of mask or face covering vary around the world. Check your local guidelines for advice. However, most guidelines recommend that medical masks are used mainly by healthcare workers and those caring for people with a known infection or with symptoms of the virus themselves. This is what the World Health Organization recommends:

  • Medical masks should be worn by healthcare workers, people with COVID-19 symptoms and people who are caring for people with COVID-19 symptoms.
  • Medical masks should be worn by people over 60 or with underlying health conditions in crowded spaces where physical distancing of one metre or more is difficult and COVID-19 is widespread.

 

Q: Who should wear a non-medical mask or face covering?

A: Check your local guidelines for advice. The World Health Organization recommends:

  • Fabric and non-medical masks or face coverings should be used by people with no symptoms of COVID-19, where physical distancing of one metre or more is difficult and COVID-19 is widespread.

This could include people serving in shops or restaurants, social workers or anyone in a busy place.

 

Q: Where should you wear a face mask or covering?

A: Check your local guidelines for advice. The World Health Organization recommends everyone should wear a non-medical mask in busy areas where it is difficult to keep at least one metre distance. This could include:

  • Public transport
  • Shops and workplaces
  • Anywhere that crowds are gathered

In the US, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommends that ‘people wear cloth face coverings in public settings when around people outside of their household, especially when other social distancing measures are difficult to maintain.’

In England and Scotland, masks or face coverings are mandatory on public transport. Exceptions are made for children under 11 (England) or 5 (Scotland), people with disabilities or breathing difficulties.

 

Q: How do face masks or coverings work?

A: Non-medical masks work by trapping some of the particles you breathe, cough or sneeze out, which may be carrying virus particles. This means that if you are infected with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, you will spray fewer virus particles into the air and people will be less likely to breathe them in. You can be infected and pass on SARS-CoV-2 without having any symptoms.

 

Q: What is the evidence for using masks or face coverings?

A: A review of 172 studies suggests face masks, including N95 respirators, could result in a ‘large reduction in risk of infection,’ up to 85% lower chance (3.1% chance with a face mask compared to 17.4% chance with no face mask). But this conclusion was stronger for respirators and the researchers say they have a ‘low’ degree of certainty about the results.

However, some doctors think we should use masks or face coverings in the community, as masks are unlikely to be harmful if used properly and anything that helps reduce transmission is likely to be a good thing.

 

Q: Do masks protect you from coronavirus?

A: Medical respirators, which are closely fitted and made of fabric which filters out tiny virus particles, are designed to protect the person wearing the mask from infection. However, non-medical face masks or coverings work more to protect other people if you have the virus than to protect the person wearing them. They do not filter out all the virus particles when you breathe in, and you may have gaps around the mask that let particles in. We are more likely to be protected if lots of people use masks.

 

Q: How should you use a non-medical face mask?

A: This is the advice from the WHO:

  • Firstly clean your hands with soap and water or alcohol sanitiser
  • Pick up your clean mask and check it is not damaged or dirty
  • Place it over your face, covering your nose, mouth and chin
  • Do not touch the mask while you are wearing it
  • Clean your hands before removing your mask by the elastic or ties
  • Clean your hands again after removing your mask
  • Wash the mask at high temperatures after each day of use

Remember that a mask alone does not protect you from COVID-19. You should also wash your hands frequently and keep socially distanced from other people as much as possible.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Reading list

  1. World Health Organization: Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice for the public: When and how to use masks. https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/when-and-how-to-use-masks (Accessed 7 July 2020).
  2. Centres for Disease Control and Prevention: About cloth face coverings. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/about-face-coverings.html (Accessed 7 July 2020).
  3. DK Chu et al. Physical distancing, face masks, and eye protection to prevent person-to-person transmission of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Lancet 2020; 395: 1973–87.
  4. Greenhalgh T et al. Face masks for the public during the covid-19 crisis BMJ 2020; 369 :m1435.