新聞頭條發出了令人震驚的說法,即COVID-19已變異為“新的更具傳染性的毒株”,就在某些國家似乎已經超過大流行高峰時,而疫苗的開發也在取得進展。

這項新發現是在尋找SARS-CoV-2(引起COVID-19的病毒)的基因變化的研究之後進行的,該變化似乎使其在感染人類方面更加成功。研究發現,這種病毒的基因組成發生了微小變化,稱為D614G,它改變了其表面的蛋白質“尖峰”。

全球跟踪顯示,在3月初之前,只有約10%的病毒樣本包含此變化,但到5月中旬上升到78%。感染了這種形式的病毒的人的鼻子和喉嚨似乎有更多的病毒,這也許可以解釋這種形式的病毒是如何變得更加普遍的。

令人放心的是,這種較新的變體似乎不會引起更嚴重的COVID-19疾病。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

英國出版物 鏡子 是報告有關 研究 這個問題是由美國洛斯阿拉莫斯國家實驗室和其他機構以及英國謝菲爾德大學的研究人員進行的。它正在《 Cell》雜誌上發表,並經過同行評審,但尚未以其最終格式發表。

資訊有什麼依據?

據說冠狀病毒(如SARS-CoV-2)的遺傳序列通常非常穩定,但有時可能會發生變化(突變)。如果這些突變幫助他們感染更多人或“繞過”人體免疫系統,則攜帶這些突變的病毒可能會繁殖。

識別這種變化很重要,因為它可能會影響疫苗或新療法的效果。因此,研究人員開發了一種“預警”系統,以尋找隨著時間的推移變得越來越普遍的SARS-CoV-2的遺傳變化。

2020年5月29日,研究人員回顧了SARS-CoV-2基因序列數據庫(GISAID),該數據庫自大流行開始以來就收集了測序數據以及地理位置和病毒採樣日期。他們確定了一種稱為D614G的更改,該更改已迅速成為更常見的更改。這種變化影響冠狀病毒表面的特徵性“尖峰”蛋白。這些刺突蛋白幫助冠狀病毒進入我們的細胞,並且是大多數正在開發的疫苗的目標。

在三月之前,只有10%病毒樣本顯示出這種變化,但到三月底,它已成為全球主要變種(冰島等少數例外)。到5月中旬,全球範圍內收集的78%病毒樣本發生了D614G變化。

謝菲爾德的研究人員研究了大約1,000名COVID-19患者的臨床數據以及他們所攜帶的病毒形式。他們發現,感染了帶有D614G變體的病毒的人的鼻子和喉嚨拭子中感染的病毒比感染了舊形式病毒的人更多。

重要的是,感染病毒原始形式或新變異的人之間的疾病嚴重程度沒有差異。此外,研究人員發現,由6名患有COVID-19的小樣本樣品產生的抗體仍能夠“中和”攜帶較新D614G變體的病毒,並在實驗室中阻止其感染細胞。

進一步的研究需要研究這種新變體的潛在影響,包括對疫苗開發的潛在影響。

專家意見

對於研究該病毒並開發疫苗和治療方法的研究人員和醫療保健專業人員而言,了解該病毒的遺傳序列變化非常重要。

但是,調查結果並未改變有關感染控制措施(如洗手,社交疏遠和使用口罩)的國家和國際公眾指導。無論是否有特定變體,SARS-Cov-2都被認為具有高度傳染性。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. Korber B等。 跟踪SARS-CoV-2峰值的變化:證據表明D614G可提高COVID-19病毒的感染性。細胞。 2020年7月3日。

閱讀清單

  1. 專家對SARS-CoV-2病毒中紙張追踪突變的反應可能會對傳染性產生影響 https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-paper-tracking-mutations-in-the-sars-cov-2-virus-with-possible-implications-for-infectiousness/ (於2020年6月9日訪問)。

News headlines have carried the alarming claim that COVID-19 has mutated into ‘a new more infectious strain’, just as some countries appear to have passed the peak of the pandemic and vaccine development is making headway.

This new finding follows research that has looked for genetic changes in SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes COVID-19) that appeared to be making it more successful at infecting people. The research identified a small change in the genetic makeup of the virus, called D614G, which alters the protein ‘spikes’ on its surface.

Global tracking showed that only about 10% of viral samples contained this change before the start of March, but this rose to 78% by mid-May. People infected with this form of the virus appear to have more virus in their nose and throat, and this might explain how this form of the virus came to be more common.

Reassuringly, this newer variant does not appear to cause more severe COVID-19 disease.

Where did the story come from?

The UK publication The Mirror was among sources to report on the study in question, which was conducted by researchers from Los Alamos National Laboratory and other institutions in the US as well as the University of Sheffield in the UK. It is being published in the journal Cell and has been peer reviewed but has not yet been published in its final format.

What is the basis for the claim?

The genetic sequence of coronaviruses such as SARS-CoV-2 is said to be usually quite stable, but sometimes changes (mutations) may arise. The viruses carrying these mutations may become prolific if the mutations help them to infect more people or ‘get round’ the human immune system.

Identifying this sort of change is important as it could impact how well a vaccine or new treatments might work. Therefore, researchers developed an “early warning” system to look for genetic changes in SARS-CoV-2 that are becoming more common over time.

On 29th May 2020, the researchers reviewed the SARS-CoV-2 genetic sequence database (GISAID) which has collected sequencing data along with geographic location and date of viral sampling since the start of the pandemic.  They identified a change called D614G, which had rapidly become the more common one. This change affects the characteristic ‘spike’ proteins on the surface of coronavirus. These spike proteins help the coronavirus to get into our cells and are the target of most vaccines in development.

Before March only 10% of the viral samples demonstrated this change, but by the end of March, it had become the predominant variant across the globe (with a few exceptions such as Iceland). By mid-May, 78% of viral samples collected globally carried the D614G change.

Researchers in Sheffield looked at clinical data for around 1,000 patients with COVID-19 and which form of the virus they had. They found that people infected with virus carrying the D614G variant had more of the virus in their nose and throat swabs than those infected with the older forms of the virus.

Importantly, there was no difference in disease severity between people infected with the original form of the virus or this new variant. Also, researchers found that the antibodies produced by a small sample of 6 people who had COVID-19 were still able to “neutralise” virus carrying the newer D614G variant and stop it infecting cells in the laboratory.

Further study needs to look into the potential implications of this new variant, including that for vaccine development.

What do trusted sources say?

Understanding changes in the genetic sequence of the virus are important for researchers and healthcare professionals studying the virus and developing vaccines and treatments.

However, the findings do not change national and international guidance for the public regarding infection control measures such as handwashing, social distancing and use of face masks. SARS-Cov-2 is already recognised to be highly infective, regardless of a specific variant.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Korber B et al. Tracking changes in SARS-CoV-2 Spike: evidence that D614G increases infectivity of the COVID-19 virus. Cell. 2020 Jul 3.

Reading list

  1. Expert reaction to paper tracking mutations in the SARS-CoV-2 virus with possible implications for infectiousnessAvailable at: https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-paper-tracking-mutations-in-the-sars-cov-2-virus-with-possible-implications-for-infectiousness/ (Accessed 9th of June, 2020).