媒体报道,针对COVID-19的血液抗体检测可能无法提供可靠的结果。现在有数十种测试可用于人口监测或个人诊断。

《英国医学杂志》(British Medical Journal)的一篇综述收集了40项研究的证据,其中大部分来自中国,这些研究着眼于血液抗体检测的准确性。各种测试并未错误地表明某人在没有COVID-19的情况下出现,但未能检测到多达三分之一已确认感染的人。提供即时结果的即时检验和商用套件往往不如标准实验室检验可靠。

大量的Cochrane评论也着眼于该主题,重点关注进行测试的时间。少于30%的人会在症状发作的第一周内显示抗体,但几乎所有人在2-3周后都会呈阳性反应。

但是,研究质量低下和测试种类繁多,难以将这项研究直接应用到可以在其中使用的各种临床和监测情况。问题仍然是它们是否足够准确,有用并适用于哪些环境。

这种说法的来源是什么?

电报 在2020年6月发表于英国媒体报道英国抗体测试研究摘要中 英国医学杂志。大约在同一时间 Cochrane合作 还总结了抗体测试的研究,重点是根据感染后的时间来确定其准确性。

这种说法的依据是什么?

BMJ研究调查了40项研究,其中28项来自中国,其中32项使用“病例对照”设计,其中包括已知患有COVID-19的患者以及未感染者的比较样本。大多数研究使用的是商业测试套件,大约一半的研究使用的是在现场即时获得快速结果的测试,而不是用于实验室分析。

根据所使用的测试,对于COVID-19感染者,在66%至98%之间,抗体测试呈阳性。即时检验和商业试剂盒的准确性往往低于非商业试剂盒和标准实验室分析的准确性。尽管这些测试很少能给出“假阳性”结果,但这意味着他们没有暗示某人没有感染该病毒。

Cochrane评价研究了54项研究,大部分来自亚洲,并将已知感染者与未感染者进行了比较。他们发现,在感染的第一周内,只有不到三分之一的COVID-19患者的抗体测试呈阳性。大约四分之三的人会在1-2周测试阳性,而90%会在2-3周测试阳性。

但是,两个评论都强调了整体证据质量低下。总体而言,这使得将这些结果应用于特定测试非常困难。但是他们确实强调了测试时机在测试抗体时会有所不同,并质疑即时结果即时检验的价值。这些评论仅考察了到4月底发布的研究,因此自那时以来可能已经形成了测试和证据。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

英国卫生与社会保健部 已向所有NHS和护理人员提供了有关抗体测试使用的指南,并且医生可能还会要求医生对医院和社区中的个人进行测试。他们说抗体阳性结果将显示您先前已被感染,但不会告诉您是否免疫,或者可能将感染传给其他人。 DHSC还指出,截至2020年5月,家用的指尖测试尚未得到验证。

其他组织,包括 美国疾病预防控制中心 他还建议进行抗体测试,称不应将其用于诊断当前的COVID-19感染,并且具有抗体并不一定表示免疫力。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

引用

  1. Mayara LB等。 Covid-19血清学检测的诊断准确性:系统评价和荟萃分析BMJ 2020; 370:m2516 https://www.bmj.com/content/370/bmj.m2516
  2. Deeks JJ等。用于识别SARS-CoV-2当前和过去感染的抗体测试。 Cochrane系统评价数据库2020,第6期。编号:CD013652 DOI:10.1002 / 14651858.CD013652。 https://www.cochranelibrary.com/cdsr/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD013652/full

参考文献

  1. 卫生与社会保健系。指导。冠状病毒(COVID-19):抗体测试。 2020年5月22日发布。 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-antibody-tests/coronavirus-covid-19-antibody-tests
  2. 疾病预防与控制中心。 COVID-19常见问题:什么是抗体测试? https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#Testing (2020年7月7日访问)

The media has reported that blood antibody tests for COVID-19 may not give reliable results. There are now dozens of tests available, which may be used either for population surveillance or in the diagnosis of individuals.

A review in the British Medical Journal gathered the evidence from 40 studies, the majority from China, which had looked at the accuracy of blood antibody tests. The various tests did not wrongly indicate someone had had COVID-19 when they hadn’t, but they failed to detect up to a third who’d had confirmed infection. Point-of-care tests that give instant results and commercial kits tended to be less reliable than standard laboratory tests.

A large Cochrane review also looked at the topic, focusing on the time when the test was taken. Less than 30% of people would show antibodies within the first week of symptom onset, but almost all would test positive after 2-3 weeks.

However, the low quality of studies and variety of tests, make it difficult to apply this research directly to the varied clinical and surveillance circumstances they could be used in. The question remains whether they are accurate enough to be useful and in which settings.

Where did the story come from?

The Telegraph was among media outlets in the UK to report on the summary of research on antibody tests, published in June 2020 in the British Medical Journal. At around the same time the Cochrane Collaboration also summarised research on antibody tests, focusing on their accuracy according to the time since infection.

What is the basis for the claim?

The BMJ study looked at 40 studies, 28 of which were from China, and 32 used a ‘case control’ design, including people known to have had COVID-19 and comparison samples of those not known to be infected. Most studies used commercial test kits, and around half of studies used tests that gave rapid results at point-of-care, rather than sending for laboratory analysis.

The antibody tests were positive for between 66% and 98% of people who’d had COVID-19 depending on the test used. Point-of-care tests and commercial kits tended to be less accurate than non-commercial kits and standard laboratory analysis. Though the tests very rarely gave ‘false positive’ results, meaning they didn’t suggest someone had had the infection when they hadn’t.

The Cochrane review looked at 54 studies, most from Asia and comparing people known to have had the infection with those who hadn’t. They found that less than a third of people with COVID-19 would test positive for antibodies within the first week of infection. About three-quarters would test positive at 1-2 weeks, and 90% by 2-3 weeks.

However, both reviews highlighted the low quality of the evidence as a whole. Overall this makes it very hard to apply these results to specific tests. But they do highlight that test timing makes a difference when testing for antibodies, and question the value of, instant result, point-of-care tests. These reviews looked at studies published to the end April only, so the tests, and the evidence, may have developed since.

What do trusted sources say?

The UK Department of Health and Social Care has guidance on the use of antibody tests, which are being provided to all NHS and care staff, and also may be requested by doctors for testing individuals in hospital and the community. They say that a positive antibody result will show you have previously been infected, but won’t tell you whether you’re immune or not, or may be able to pass the infection to others. DHSC also note that, as of the end of May 2020, finger-prick tests for home use had not been validated.

Other organisations, including the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention also advise on antibody tests, saying they should not be used to diagnose current COVID-19 infection, and that having antibodies does not necessarily indicate immunity.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Mayara LB, et al. Diagnostic accuracy of serological tests for covid-19: systematic review and meta-analysis BMJ 2020; 370 :m2516 https://www.bmj.com/content/370/bmj.m2516
  2. Deeks JJ, et al. Antibody tests for identification of current and past infection with SARS‐CoV‐2. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2020, Issue 6. Art. No.: CD013652. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD013652. https://www.cochranelibrary.com/cdsr/doi/10.1002/14651858.CD013652/full

Reading list

  1. Department of Health and Social Care. Guidance. Coronovirus (COVID-19): antibody tests. Published 22 May 2020. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-antibody-tests/coronavirus-covid-19-antibody-tests
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions: What is antibody testing? https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#Testing (Accessed 7 July 2020)