新聞媒體報導了有關機載病毒傳播的一些最新研究,世界衛生組織警告說,新出現的證據表明冠狀病毒可能通過“微滴”在空氣中傳播。

在關於9的科學摘要中 七月,世界衛生組織建議,人們咳嗽或打噴嚏時產生的較大呼吸道飛沫仍可能是SARS-CoV-2(引起COVID-19的病毒)傳播的主要途徑。但是,它們突顯了極小的空氣中顆粒物對病毒傳播的貢獻仍然存在不確定性。當氣霧生成裝置產生可在空氣中循環的微小液滴時,這種擔憂尤其與封閉,不通風的空間有關。來自世界各地的其他專家也警告說,這種氣溶膠傳播的效果被低估了,並呼籲更廣泛地使用口罩來控制感染的傳播。

世界衛生組織建議“在封閉的,擁擠的空間中”使用口罩,以及其他傳染控制措施,例如身體疏遠,洗手和環境消毒。如果佩戴者攜帶病毒,即使沒有症狀,這也可能有助於保護他人。英國政府就13 7月,在英格蘭的商店必須戴口罩/罩子。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

在9 2020年7月,世界衛生組織(WHO)發布了 科學簡報 SARS-CoV-2的不同傳播方式。最近的研究發表在諸如 臨床傳染病PNAS 還涵蓋了病毒的空中傳播。

資訊有什麼依據?

WHO 簡要 解釋說,氣溶膠顆粒可能是正常呼氣引起的,也可能是較大的呼吸液滴的蒸發產生的(例如,當有人咳嗽時)。這些空氣中的顆粒可以長時間懸浮在空氣中,並傳播很長的距離。在實驗室實驗中,使用霧化器散佈了攜帶SARS-CoV-2的氣溶膠顆粒,可以在空氣樣本中檢測到3到16個小時之間的病毒。世衛組織警告說,這可能無法反映現實生活中的情況。在照料患有COVID-19的人的醫療保健機構中發現的空氣測試結果不一致。一些人在空氣樣本中發現了可檢測到的病毒,而另一些人則沒有發現,重要的是,沒有人發現可以感染人的可行病毒。

從本質上講,COVID-19中氣溶膠顆粒的“感染劑量”仍然未知。世衛組織仍然認為病毒傳播是通過與感染者密切接觸而通過呼吸道飛沫發生的。

其他專家強調了對空中傳播的擔憂。由國際專家組成的期刊 臨床傳染病 “呼籲醫學界以及相關的國家和國際機構認識到COVID-19在空氣中傳播的潛力。”他們說,研究“證明了任何合理的懷疑”,即足夠小的微滴可以保留到高空,在與被感染者相距幾米的距離上存在危險,並敦促使用保護性設備。

同時,美國研究人員在該雜誌上發表了 PNAS 考察了中國的病毒傳播率,並在中國製定了包括強制性口罩在內的“激進措施”。他們正確地承認,未對這些單獨措施的有效性進行嚴格評估。但是,他們提出了這樣一種理論,即與世界上中國的病例數持續下降相比,西方世界不受歡迎的口罩可能是意大利和美國等地病例數穩定的原因。

專家意見

世界衛生組織得出結論,證據表明SARS-CoV-2的傳播主要通過呼吸道飛沫發生-與感染者密切接觸或從被其污染的表面上傳播。但是,他們說,病毒的空氣傳播可以在使用氣霧生成程序的醫療機構中發生。一些與室內擁擠空間有關的爆發報告表明,例如在餐館或健身班中,有可能傳播氣溶膠。

在其他感染控制措施中,他們建議“在封閉,擁擠的空間中戴口罩,以保護他人”。

最新的 英國政府指導 從24年代開始 6月,當他們建議在公共交通工具上和住院時必須戴面罩。可能會對此進行更新,以反映針對商店中強制性口罩的新建議。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. Morawska L,Milton DK。現在該解決covid-19的機載傳播問題了。臨床傳染病。 2020年7月6日。 https://academic.oup.com/cid/article/doi/10.1093/cid/ciaa939/5867798
  2. Zhang R,Li Y,Zhang AL,Wang Y,Molina MJ。確定空中傳播是COVID-19傳播的主要途徑。美國國家科學院院刊。 2020年6月11日。 https://www.pnas.org/content/117/26/14857

閱讀清單

  1. 世界衛生組織。 SARS-CoV-2的傳播:對預防感染的預防措施的意義。科學簡報,2020年7月9日。 https://www.who.int/news-room/commentaries/detail/transmission-of-sars-cov-2-implications-for-infection-prevention-precautions
  2. 英國。冠狀病毒(COVID-19)。指導:在您家外保持安全。 2020年7月24日更新 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/staying-safe-outside-your-home/staying-safe-outside-your-home#face-coverings

News outlets have reported some recent research on airborne viral spread and the World Health Organization has warned of emerging evidence that the coronavirus may spread through the air via “microdroplets”.

In a scientific brief issued on 9th July the WHO advise that larger respiratory droplets produced when a person coughs or sneezes are still likely to be the main way that SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, is transmitted. However, they highlight the remaining uncertainty over the contribution of very small airborne particles to the spread of the virus. The concern is particularly relevant to closed, unventilated spaces when aerosol-generating devices create small microdroplets that can circulate in the air. Other experts from around the globe have also warned that the effect of this aerosol transmission has been underestimated, and called for more widespread use of face masks to control infection spread.

The WHO has advised the use of fabric masks ‘in closed, overcrowded spaces,’ alongside other infection control measures such as physical distancing, handwashing and environmental disinfection. This may help to protect others if the wearer is carrying the virus, even if asymptomatic themselves. The UK government advised on 13th July that wearing of face masks/coverings in shops in England will be mandatory.

 

Where did the story come from?

On 9th July 2020, the World Health Organization (WHO) issued a scientific brief on the different modes of transmission of SARS-CoV-2. Recent studies published in journals such as the Clinical Infectious Diseases and PNAS have also covered airborne transmission of the virus.

What is the basis for the claim?

The WHO brief explains that aerosol particles may result either from normal exhaled breath or can be generated from the evaporation of larger respiratory droplets (e.g. when someone coughs). These airborne particles can be suspended in the air for long periods and spread over long distances. In laboratory experiments where aerosol particles carrying SARS-CoV-2 were distributed using a nebuliser, the virus was detectable in air samples for between 3 and 16 hours. The WHO caution that this may not reflect real-life situations. Tests of the air found in healthcare facilities caring for people with COVID-19 have given inconsistent results. Some found the detectable virus in air samples, while others found none – and importantly none found viable virus that could infect people.

Essentially the ‘infectious dose’ of aerosol particles in COVID-19 remains unknown. The WHO still consider that viral transmission occurs via respiratory droplets through close contact with an infected person.

Other experts have highlighted concerns over airborne transmission. An international group of experts writing in the journal Clinical Infectious Diseases ‘appeal to the medical community and to the relevant national and international bodies to recognize the potential for airborne spread of COVID-19.’ They stated that studies had ‘demonstrated beyond any reasonable doubt’ that microdroplets small enough to remain aloft pose a risk at distances of several metres from the infected individual, and urged the use of protective equipment.

Meanwhile, US researchers published in the journal PNAS looked at viral transmission rates in China, where ‘aggressive measures’ including mandatory face masks in public were instituted. They rightly acknowledge that the effectiveness of these individual measures has not been rigorously evaluated. However, they put forward the theory that the unpopularity of face masks in the western world could underlie the consistent number of cases in places such as Italy and the US, compared with the steady decline in cases in China.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO conclude that the evidence suggests that transmission of SARS-CoV-2 occurs mainly through respiratory droplets – either close contact with an infected person or from surfaces contaminated with them.  However, they say that airborne transmission of the virus can occur in health care settings where aerosol generating procedures are used. Some outbreak reports related to indoor crowded spaces have suggested the possibility of aerosol transmission for example, in restaurants or in fitness classes.

Among other infection control measures, they advise ‘wear fabric masks when in closed, overcrowded spaces to protect others.’

The latest UK government guidance on face coverings dates from 24th June when they advised face coverings were compulsory on public transport and when attending hospital. This is likely to be updated to reflect new recommendations for compulsory face masks in shops.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Morawska L, Milton DK. It is time to address airborne transmission of covid-19. Clinical Infectious Diseases. 2020 Jul 6. https://academic.oup.com/cid/article/doi/10.1093/cid/ciaa939/5867798
  2. Zhang R, Li Y, Zhang AL, Wang Y, Molina MJ. Identifying airborne transmission as the dominant route for the spread of COVID-19. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. 2020 Jun 11. https://www.pnas.org/content/117/26/14857

Reading list

  1. World Health Organization. Transmission of SARS-CoV-2: implications for infection prevention precautions. Scientific brief, 9 July 2020. https://www.who.int/news-room/commentaries/detail/transmission-of-sars-cov-2-implications-for-infection-prevention-precautions
  2. UK. Coronavirus (COVID-19). Guidance: Staying safe outside your home. Updated 24 July 2020 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/staying-safe-outside-your-home/staying-safe-outside-your-home#face-coverings