各種媒體都警告患有COVID-19的人的腦部疾病,包括中風和神經損傷。到目前為止,新的研究已經開始闡明這些條件的範圍和近似頻率。

例如,英國醫生確定了4月至5月住院的COVID-19感染住院的43例神經系統並發症。其中包括12例因大腦和脊髓發炎的疾病,10例因精神病和8例因血塊引起的中風。全球還有其他報導了在COVID-19住院患者中的中風。

在大流行早期就認識到COVID-19可能引起血液凝結問題。頭痛,味覺和嗅覺喪失等神經系統症狀也屬於已知症狀。

但是,我們不知道中風或嚴重的神經系統並發症有多常見,它們可能與感染的嚴重程度或其他潛在的醫學問題有何联系。在感染期間和恢復後,醫生仍在嘗試了解COVID-19的全部作用。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

愛爾蘭時報 發表在期刊上的重點研究 詳細介紹了在英國COVID-19患者中觀察到的神經系統並發症。

其他來源,例如 健康熱線 關注中風風險。他們著重介紹了美國的案例報告,該報告發表在 新英格蘭醫學雜誌 (NEJM),觀察到異常數量的中風患者經檢測呈陽性。

資訊有什麼依據?

在裡面 在2020年4月9日至5月15日期間,醫生在倫敦的COVID神經病學和神經血管專家小組中轉診了43名患者。三分之二的患者通過病毒檢測確診了確診的COVID-19感染,其餘患者與世界衛生組織(WHO)會面確定可能或可能的COVID-19的案例定義。患者年齡在16至85歲之間,男性為56%,非白人為53%。

患者分為5個不同的診斷組:

  • 12例患有腦和中樞神經系統的炎性疾病(腦炎和脊髓炎),並伴有出血跡象
  • 10例患者出現某種形式的暫時性腦部不適(腦病),伴有思維障礙和精神錯亂(del妄/精神病),但腦部掃描或腰椎穿刺未見異常
  • 8人因血塊引起缺血性中風,其中一些人的肺部也有血塊
  • 8人有神經問題(7人患有格林-巴利綜合症,其特徵是手腳開始進行性麻痺)
  • 5個存在一系列其他條件,這些條件不屬於這些類別

似乎與COVID呼吸道症狀的嚴重程度沒有任何關係。

在美國,紐約市的醫生在 NEJM 研究對5月小於50歲的3月/ 4月兩週內出現嚴重中風的患者進行了研究,所有患者的COVID-19檢測均為陽性。這比他們當時通常看到的要多。

與中風的關聯與已知與COVID-19相關的血液凝固紊亂相一致。神經學作用也在公認的病毒感染並發症範圍內。但是,我們將需要等待基於人群的研究,才能確切了解COVID-19感染者中常見的嚴重神經系統並發症或中風的可能性。

戴維·斯特林《愛爾蘭時報》援引埃克塞特大學醫學院高級臨床講師的話說,只有少數患者出現嚴重的神經系統並發症。

專家意見

美國疾病預防控制中心 指出某些COVID-19的患者可能會出現凝血增加的跡象,並有血栓的風險,包括深靜脈血栓形成,肺栓塞,心髒病發作和中風。他們指出原因尚不清楚,但可能是免疫系統響應感染而釋放的炎性蛋白質影響了人體的凝血系統。

CDC,WHO和其他全球資源列出了可能的症狀範圍,包括味覺或嗅覺喪失,頭痛以及一般的肌肉疼痛。 WHO 建議講話或行動不便的任何人立即就醫。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. Paterson RW等。 COVID-19神經病學的新興領域:臨床,放射學和實驗室檢查結果。腦。 2020年7月8日 https://academic.oup.com/brain/article/doi/10.1093/brain/awaa240/5868408

閱讀清單

  1. Oxley TJ等。大血管卒中是Covid-19在年輕人中的表現特徵。新英格蘭醫學雜誌。 2020年5月14日; 382(20):e60。 https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMc2009787?query=featured_home
  2. 美國疾病控制與預防中心。 確診冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)的患者管理的臨時臨床指南。 2020年6月30日更新。
  3. 世界衛生組織。 冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的問答。 2020年4月17日。

Various media sources have warned of brain conditions including stroke and nerve damage in people with COVID-19. New research has begun to unravel the range and approximate frequency of these conditions so far.

UK doctors, for example, identified 43 patients hospitalised with COVID-19 infection during April to May who had neurological complications. This included 12 with inflammatory conditions of the brain and spinal cord, 10 with psychosis and 8 with stroke caused by a blood clot. There have been other global reports of stroke among patients hospitalised with COVID-19.

It was recognised early in the pandemic that COVID-19 may cause problems with blood clotting. Neurological symptoms such as headaches, loss of taste and smell are also among the range of known symptoms.

However, we don’t know how common stroke or serious neurological complications are, how they may be linked with the severity of infection or other underlying medical problems. Doctors are still trying to understand the full range of effects of COVID-19, during infection and after recovery.

Where did the story come from?

The Irish Times highlighted research published in the journal Brain which detailed the neurological complications observed among UK patients with COVID-19.

Other sources such as Healthline have focused on the stroke risk. They highlight case reports from the US, published in the New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM), which have observed unusual numbers of stroke patients who’ve tested positive for the infection.

What is the basis for the claim?

In the Brain publication, doctors identified 43 patients referred to a specialist COVID neurology and neurovascular team in London from the 9th April to 15th May 2020. Two-thirds had definite COVID-19 infection confirmed by viral test, and the remainder met World Health Organization (WHO) case definitions for definite probable or possible COVID-19. The patients ranged in age from 16 to 85 years, 56% male and 53% of non-white ethnicity.

The patients presented in 5 distinct diagnostic groups:

  • 12 had inflammatory conditions of the brain and central nervous system (encephalitis and myelitis) with signs of bleeding in several cases
  • 10 patients had some form of temporary brain disturbance (encephalopathy) associated with disordered thinking and confusion (delirium/psychosis), but no abnormalities on brain scans or lumbar puncture
  • 8 had ischaemic strokes caused by a blood clot, some of whom also had clots on the lungs
  • 8 had nerve problems (7 had Guillain-Barré syndrome, which is characterised by progressive paralysis starting in hands and feet)
  • 5 had a range of other conditions that didn’t fit into these categories

There didn’t seem to be any association with the severity of COVID respiratory symptoms.

In the US, doctors from New York City reported in a NEJM study of 5 patients aged less than 50 years who had presented with severe stroke during 2 weeks in March/April, all of whom tested positive for COVID-19. This was more than they would usually see in that period.

The association with stroke is consistent with the disordered blood clotting known to be associated with COVID-19.  Neurological effects are also among the range of recognised complications of viral infections. However, we will need to wait for population-based studies to know exactly how common severe neurological complications or stroke may be among people with COVID-19 infection.

David Strain, a senior clinical lecturer at the University of Exeter medical school, is quoted by the Irish Times saying that only a small number of patients appear to experience serious neurological complications.

What do trusted sources say?

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention stated that some patients with COVID-19 may develop signs of increased blood coagulation and be at risk of blood clots, including deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, heart attack and stroke. They state that the cause is unknown, but it could be that the inflammatory proteins released by the immune system in response to infection, affect the body’s blood clotting systems.

The CDC, WHO and other global resources list loss of taste or smell, headaches and general muscle aches and pains among the range of possible symptoms. WHO advises anyone with loss of speech or movement to seek immediate medical attention.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Paterson RW et al. The emerging spectrum of COVID-19 neurology: clinical, radiological and laboratory findings. Brain. 2020 Jul 8. https://academic.oup.com/brain/article/doi/10.1093/brain/awaa240/5868408

Reading list

  1. Oxley TJ et al. Large-vessel stroke as a presenting feature of Covid-19 in the young. New England Journal of Medicine. 2020 May 14;382(20):e60. https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMc2009787?query=featured_home
  2. The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Interim Clinical Guidance for Management of Patients with Confirmed Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19). Updated June 30 2020.
  3. World Health Organization. Q&A on coronaviruses (COVID-19). 17 April 2020.