隨著大流行的繼續,我們對COVID-19感染的長期影響有了更好的了解。在大流行的早期階段,有傳聞說有些人在感染一個月後仍然有症狀。現在看來,症狀可能會持續更長時間,並且醫院和社區的調查和一系列病例已開始表徵COVID-19之後的長期狀況。

一項意大利研究對入院大約兩個月後的143名患者進行了回顧。大約一半的人報告有疲勞或呼吸急促,而另一半則說仍然影響他們的生活質量。這些人大多數患有嚴重的肺炎感染。荷蘭的一項社區調查發現,在未尋求醫療救助的人群中,COVID症狀出現後2-3個月出現了類似的報告。

嚴重的病毒感染後,持續存在的問題並不罕見,這些發現凸顯了對計劃性,比較性研究的需求,需要對實驗室測試結果和患者報告的結果數據進行長期隨訪。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

各種媒體已經在出版物上發表了報導,或者引用了對COVID-19可能造成的長期後果有所改變的專家的話。其中, 英國廣播公司的新聞福布斯 報告了發表在 美國醫學會雜誌監護人 突出顯示一個 荷蘭報告,兩者都調查了康復患者的樣本。

資訊有什麼依據?

在裡面 賈瑪 研究顯示,意大利羅馬的醫生為COVID康復後出院的人設立了門診服務。在4月21日至5月29日之間,有143例患者(其中出院者80%)進行了隨訪。他們平均住院了近兩週,75%患有肺炎,而20%需要某種形式的呼吸機支持。

首次出現症狀後約兩個月,只有18名患者(13%)完全沒有症狀。常見的症狀有:

  • 疲勞(53%)
  • 呼吸急促(43%)
  • 關節痛(27%)
  • 胸痛(22%)
  • 生活質量普遍較差(44%)

根據這些數據,我們不知道他們在COVID之前的基本健康狀況,或者症狀是否可以持續更長的時間。這些都是感染嚴重的住院患者。

另一方面,社區調查 荷蘭肺基金會 提示即使沒有住院的患者也可能持續出現症狀。這項調查是針對1600名“電暈式投訴”人群(平均年齡53歲)進行的。大量的95%據說在其最初症狀出現後的幾個月對其日常活動有殘留影響。同樣,最常見的症狀是疲勞(88%)和呼吸急促(74%)。另外,值得關注的是,85%報告稱在出現COVID症狀之前身體健康。該數據也有局限性,我們不知道它們的最初表現或症狀的持續時間,據說有將近一半沒有被醫生診斷。

儘管如此,兩項研究都強調需要對從COVID-19中康復的人進行比較研究,這些人最好是住院患者,而不是跟隨同一個人更長的時間。

專家意見

英國NHS已發布 指導 從COVID-19中康復並出院的患者對術後護理的需求,認識到“所需的病毒和治療方法將對其健康產生持久影響”。它涵蓋了廣泛的潛在身體康復需求以及心理和社會影響,特別是如果此人需要重症監護時。

英國胸腔學會 還針對患有COVID肺炎的患者發布了呼吸隨訪指南,並根據疾病嚴重程度提出了具體建議。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. CarfìA,Bernabei R等。急性COVID-19後患者的持續症狀。賈瑪研究信2020年7月9日。
  2. 荷蘭肺基金會:即使幾個月後,電暈患者的健康狀況仍然令人震驚。出版物,基於對Longfonds導演Michael Rutgers的訪談。翻譯自荷蘭語 https://www.ad.nl/binnenland/longfonds-gezondheid-thuiszittende-coronapatienten-schrikbarend-slecht~a45346fe/

閱讀清單

  1. NHS英國。 從COVID-19中恢復的住院病人的護理後需求。 2020年6月5日
  2. 英國胸腔學會。 對COVID-19肺炎進行臨床放射學診斷的患者進行呼吸隨訪的指南。 2020年5月11日發布

As the pandemic continues, we are understanding the long-term effects of COVID-19 infection better. In the early stages of the pandemic, there were anecdotal reports that some people still had symptoms one month after infection. It now appears that symptoms may be persistent for much longer and surveys and series of cases from hospitals and the community are beginning to characterise the long-term conditions that follow COVID-19.

An Italian study reviewed 143 patients about two months after hospital admission. Around half reported fatigue or shortness of breath, while half said it still affected their quality of life. Most of these people had a severe infection with pneumonia. A community based Dutch survey found similar reports 2-3 months after COVID symptoms among people who hadn’t sought medical attention.

Persistent problems are not unusual following severe viral infections and these findings highlight the need for well planned, comparative studies with long-term follow-up of lab test results and patient-reported outcome data.

Where did the story come from?

Various media outlets have either reported on publications or quoted experts who have altered to the possible long-term consequences of COVID-19. Among them, BBC News and Forbes reported on a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association while the Guardian highlighted a Dutch report, both of which have surveyed samples of recovered patients.

What is the basis for the claim?

In the JAMA study, doctors in Rome, Italy set up an outpatient service for people discharged from hospital after COVID recovery. Between 21 April and 29 May, 143 patients (80% of those discharged) attended follow-up. They had been hospitalised for nearly two weeks on average, 75% had pneumonia and 20% had required some form of ventilator support.

Around two months after their first symptoms, only 18 patients (13%) were completely free of symptoms. Commonly reported symptoms were:

  • Fatigue (53%)
  • Shortness of breath (43%)
  • Joint pain (27%)
  • Chest pain (22%)
  • General poorer quality of life (44%)

From this data we don’t know what their underlying health was prior to COVID, or whether symptoms could persist for longer. These were also all hospitalised patients with a fairly severe infection.

On the other hand a community survey by the Dutch Lung Foundation has suggested that symptoms may persist even among patients not admitted to hospital. The survey was conducted among 1,600 people (average age 53) who had ‘corona-type complaints.’ A massive 95% were said to have residual effects on their everyday activities several months after their first symptoms. Again, the most common symptoms were fatigue (88%) and shortness of breath (74%). Also, of concern, 85% reported having experienced good health prior to COVID symptoms. There are limitations to this data too, we don’t know about their initial presentation or definite duration of symptoms, and nearly half were said not to been diagnosed by a doctor.

Nevertheless, both studies highlight the need for comparative research studies on people who have recovered from COVID-19, preferably both hospitalised and not that follow the same people for longer.

What do trusted sources say?

NHS England has issued guidance on the after-care needs of patients who’ve recovered from COVID-19 and been discharged from hospital, recognising that ‘the virus and treatment required will have a lasting impact on their health.’ It covers extensive potential physical rehabilitation needs, as well as psychological and social effects, particularly if the person has required intensive care.

The British Thoracic Society has also issued guidance on the respiratory follow-up of patients who’ve had COVID pneumonia, with specific recommendations according to disease severity.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Carfì A, Bernabei R, et al. Persistent Symptoms in Patients After Acute COVID-19. JAMA. Research Letter July 9, 2020.
  2. Dutch Lung foundation: Health of Corona patients at home in alarmingly poor health even after months. Publication, based on an Interview with Longfonds Director, Michael Rutgers.  Translated from Dutch https://www.ad.nl/binnenland/longfonds-gezondheid-thuiszittende-coronapatienten-schrikbarend-slecht~a45346fe/

Reading list

  1. NHS England. After-care needs of inpatients recovering from COVID-19. 5 June 2020
  2. British Thoracic Society. Guidance on Respiratory Follow Up of Patients with a Clinico-Radiological Diagnosis of COVID-19 Pneumonia. Published 11 May 2020