当人们恢复旅行时,有人问到在飞机上飞行的安全性如何。但是,在航空公司能够做出确定的响应之前,需要进行更好的研究。

统计教授计算了在美国乘飞机旅行时感染COVID-19的风险。该计算基于各种假设,例如,根据美国当地的感染率,被感染者在飞机上的可能性以及口罩未能感染病毒的可能性。他计算得出,在一次全程飞行中捕获COVID的基线风险约为4,300分之一。如果将三排座位中的中间座位留空,则可将其减少到7,700的一半。

研究作者公开承认模型中使用的局限性和假设。他旨在粗略估计潜在风险。

该发现增强了飞机和其他形式的公共交通工具上的面罩的价值。

正如作者所建议的那样,它还提出了以下问题:减少潜在的风险是否值得不填补三分之一席位的经济成本。问题仍然没有答案。

这种说法的来源是什么?

独立 报纸对此报道 研究,可以以预印本的形式提供。因此,专家尚未对其进行同行评审。一位研究人员对风险进行了建模。

这种说法的依据是什么?

研究 作者从以下三个方面估算了飞机飞行中任何旅客患COVID-19感染的风险:

  1. 感染者在飞机上的机会(根据飞机始发地和目的地的当地感染率)
  2. 强制使用口罩无法阻止COVID传播的机会
  3. 一个被感染者以不同距离传播给另一个人的机会

作者认为,这第三个因素将主要取决于航空公司是否有保留所有座位的政策,而中间座位没有空缺。

他们使用了美国疾病控制和感染中心的数据,调查了7月初一周内德克萨斯州和纽约州的新感染人数。然后,他们认为登机的人没有症状,或者只有轻度的COVID-19症状。作者认为,这类人的感染力仅是完全有症状的人的一半。他们还假设登机的人不太可能具有COVID-19的基线风险因素(例如,具有较高的社会经济地位)。

先前发表的一项研究表明,如果每个人都戴口罩,这会将感染的传播范围从17%减少到3%,从而降低82%的相对风险。另一项研究估计,如果人们直接进行身体接触,则感染风险为13%,如果人与人之间的距离越来越远,则感染风险降低了一半。

使用所有这些假设,研究作者计算出,如果飞机满员,7月初在美国国内航班上签约COVID-19的风险为4,300分之一。如果中间座位没有空位,则该风险降低至7,700中的1 – 56%降低了风险。

作者承认该模型的局限性。其中包括不考虑人们在飞行过程中是否讲话,或者在机场,登机或下飞机时所发生的风险。对于飞行时间的影响,或者与坐在正后方或正前方的行中的人相比,相邻坐的风险有何疑问?

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

英国政府 已发布有关安全飞行旅行的建议,其中包括在飞机上戴面罩的建议。英格兰和苏格兰境内的航班必须戴面罩。但是,该建议未解决航班上坐着的乘客的间距。

建议人们:

  • 尽可能坐着
  • 遵循机组人员的指示和指导
  • 尽可能使用非接触式付款
  • 请注意,餐饮服务可能会减少
  • 如果您生病了,请告知乘务人员

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Barnett A. Covid-19航空公司乘客的风险:中间座位应该空着吗? https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.07.02.20143826v2.full.pdf (2020年7月20日访问)

 

参考文献

  1. 运输部。冠状病毒(COVID-19):为乘客提供更安全的航空旅行。 https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19-safer-air-travel-guidance-for-passengers (2020年7月20日访问)

As people resume travelling, questions have been asked about how safe it is to fly on aeroplanes. However, better research is needed before airlines can respond with any certainty.

A Professor of statistics has calculated the risk of contracting COVID-19 while travelling on an aircraft in the US. The calculations are based on various assumptions such as the likelihood of an infected person being on a plane given the US local infection rates and the likelihood of face masks failing to contain the virus. He calculated that the baseline risk of catching COVID on a full flight was approximately 1 in 4,300. This was assessed to reduce by half to 1 in 7,700 if the middle seat in a bank of three seats was left free.

The study author openly acknowledges the limitations and assumptions used in the model. He aimed to give a rough approximation of the potential risks.

The findings reinforce the value of face coverings on aeroplanes and other forms of public transport.

As the author suggests, it also asks the question of whether the potential risk reduction is worth the economic cost of not filling one third of the seats. The question remains unanswered.

Where did the story come from?

The Independent newspaper reported on this study, which is available in a preliminary, pre-print form. As such it has not been peer-reviewed by experts. A single researcher modelled the risk.

What is the basis for the claim?

The study author estimated the risk that any passenger has of contracting COVID-19 infection during an aeroplane flight from three factors:

  1. The chances that an infected person is on the plane (based on the local infection rate at the plane’s origin and destination)
  2. The chances that compulsory use of face masks fail to stop COVID transmission
  3. The chances that one infected person passes on the infection to another at different distances apart

The author considered that this third factor will essentially depend on whether the airline has the policy of filling all seats compared with the middle seats left free.

They used data from the US Centers for Disease Control and Infection to look at the number of new infections in Texas and New York during one week in early July. They then assumed that people boarding a plane were either asymptomatic or had only mild symptoms of COVID-19. The author considered that such people are only half as infective as fully symptomatic people. They also assumed that those boarding a plane were less likely to have baseline risk factors for COVID-19 (e.g. being of higher socioeconomic status).

A previously published study has suggested that if everyone wears a mask, this reduces infection transmission from 17% to 3% – an 82% relative risk reduction. Another study had estimated that if people are in direct physical contact the infection risk is 13%, which then drops by about half for every metre people are further apart.

Using all of these assumptions, the study author calculated that the risk of contracting COVID-19 on a US domestic flight in early July was 1 in 4,300 if the flight was full. If the middle seats were kept free this risk was reduced to 1 in 7,700 – a 56% reduced risk.

The author acknowledges the limitations of this model. These include not accounting for whether or not people talk during the flight, or the risks incurred in the airport, during boarding or leaving the plane. There are also questions over the effect of the length of flight, or how the risk of sitting adjacent compares with that of people sitting in the rows directly behind or in front.

What do trusted sources say?

The UK government has issued advice for safer air travel, which includes advice to wear a face covering on-board. Face coverings are mandatory for flights within England and Scotland. However, the advice does not address the spacing of seated passengers on flights.

People are advised to:

  • Remain seated as much as possible
  • Follow instructions and guidance from the crew
  • Use contactless payment where possible
  • Be aware there is likely to be a reduced food and drink service
  • Make the cabin crew aware if you become ill

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Barnett A. Covid-19 Risk Among Airline Passengers: Should the Middle Seat Stay Empty? https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.07.02.20143826v2.full.pdf (Accessed 20 July 2020)

 

Reading list

  1. Department of Transport. Coronavirus (COVID-19): safer air travel for passengers. https://www.gov.uk/guidance/coronavirus-covid-19-safer-air-travel-guidance-for-passengers (Accessed 20 July 2020)