在大流行早期,有報導說蕁麻疹和冰chi等皮疹可能是COVID-19的潛在症狀。但是這些早期報告大多是在COVID-19住院患者中進行的。

這項研究調查了大約336,000名英國成年人的數據,這些成年人註冊使用症狀跟踪應用程序。 27,000名子樣本接受了拭子檢查,看他們是否攜帶了COVID-19病毒。呈陽性的人中約有9%出現皮疹。在未經測試的應用程序用戶中,約8%的人報告了發熱和咳嗽的經典COVID症狀,也報告了皮疹。與COVID-19相關的皮疹最常見的類型是蕁麻疹(蕁麻疹),瘙癢的紅腫(丘疹樣皮疹)或手或腳上的類似智柏樣皮疹。

這些發現似乎證實皮疹是COVID-19的另一種潛在症狀。但是,正如皮膚科醫生建議的那樣,皮疹非常普遍,因此僅出現皮疹並不會自動使該人成為COVID-19。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

一些新聞網站報導了這項研究,以回應 新聞稿 這項研究由倫敦國王學院發行。該研究論文可在 預印表格 尚未經過同行評審。

資訊有什麼依據?

研究論文 來自的數據 COVID-19症狀研究 應用程式。 2020年5月和6月,共有336,847名英國成年人在此應用上進行了註冊。

  • 該樣本中的1%(27,157)經過拭子測試,看是否攜帶病毒,其中7.4%(2,021)呈陽性
  • 呈陽性的那些中的8%(178)有皮疹
  • 呈陰性的人的9%(1497)有皮疹

研究人員計算出,在接受測試的人中,有皮疹的人比沒有皮疹的人有67%陽性的機會更高。

未接受拭子測試的近60,000個應用程序用戶也報告存在任何症狀。報告COVID-19“經典”症狀(例如咳嗽,發燒和嗅覺喪失)的人群中,有8%的人也報告了皮疹。

在研究的第二部分中,研究人員對11,546名可能與COVID-19相關的皮疹的人進行了在線調查。這些人中有6%的COVID-19病毒或抗體檢測呈陽性。其中約五分之一的人表示皮膚症狀是第一個或唯一的症狀,而大多數人表示這些症狀與其他症狀同時或之後出現。

皮膚科醫生評估了整組中365張照片的隨機樣本(包括未經測試的照片)。他們認為14%要么不清楚,要么不太可能與COVID-19關聯。其餘的是三種類型之一。 28%蕁麻疹(蕁麻疹),41%丘疹(隆起的腫塊)和23%的手,腳或臉有皮疹。

專家意見

目前,皮疹不包括在 英國國家衛生局 要么 美國疾病預防控制中心 COVID-19的潛在症狀列表。但是,世界衛生組織將它們列為“不常見的症狀'。

英國皮膚科協會 在其網站上說:“皮膚病變和皮疹很常見,它們本身不一定引起人們的關注。”它補充說:“公眾對於根據皮膚症狀進行自我診斷的COVID-19應該非常謹慎;皮疹和其他皮膚病變很常見,沒有專業知識就很難區分。”

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. Veronique Bataille等。 SARS-CoV-2感染皮膚表現的診斷價值(2020)MedRxiv doi:10.1101 / 2020.07.10.20150656 https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.07.10.20150656v1.full.pdf (於2020年7月24日訪問)。

 

閱讀清單

  1. 英國皮膚病學協會。確定了COVID-19的五種常見皮膚表現。 2020年4月。 https://www.skinhealthinfo.org.uk/five-common-skin-manifestations-of-covid-19-identified/ (於2020年7月24日訪問)。

Early in the pandemic there were reports that itchy rashes such as hives and chilblains could be potential symptoms of COVID-19. But these early reports were mostly among people hospitalised with COVID-19.

This study looks at data from around 336,000 UK adults who registered to use a symptom-tracking app.  A subsample of 27,000 received a swab to see if they were carrying the COVID-19 virus. About 9% of those who tested positive had a skin rash. Among app users who remained untested, about 8% of those reported classic COVID symptoms of fever and cough also reported a skin rash.  The most common types of rashes linked to COVID-19 were hives (urticaria), itchy red bumps (papular rash) or chilblain-like rashes on hands or feet.

The findings seem to confirm skin rashes as another potential symptom of COVID-19. But as dermatologists advise skin rashes are extremely common so their presence alone does not automatically mean that person as COVID-19.

Where did the story come from?

Several news sites reported the study in response to a press release issued by Kings College London, who conducted the study. The research paper is available in preprint form and has not been peer-reviewed.

What is the basis for the claim?

The research paper used data from the COVID-19 Symptom Study app. A total of 336,847 UK adults registered with this app in May and June 2020.

  • 1% of this sample (27,157) had a swab test to see if they were carrying the virus, 7.4% of whom (2,021) tested positive
  • 8% of those who tested positive (178) had skin rashes
  • 9% of people who tested negative (1497) had skin rashes

The researchers calculated that of people who were tested, those with a rash had a 67% higher chance of testing positive than those without a rash.

Nearly 60,000 app users who didn’t receive a swab test also reported the presence of any symptoms. Eight percent of those who reported ‘classic’ symptoms of COVID-19 such as cough, fever and loss of sense of smell reported a skin rash as well.

In a second part to the study, the researchers looked at an online survey of 11,546 people with skin rashes possibly linked to COVID-19. Six percent of these people had a positive viral or antibody test for COVID-19. Around 1 in 5 of them reported skin symptoms as the first or only symptom, while the majority said symptoms occurred alongside or after other symptoms.

A dermatologist assessed a random sample of 365 photographs from the full group (including those untested). They considered that 14% were either too unclear to identify or unlikely to be linked to COVID-19. The remainder were one of the three types; 28% urticarial (hives), 41% papular (raised lumps) and 23% had rashes on the hand, feet or face.

What do trusted sources say?

At present, skin rashes are not included in the UK National Health Service or US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention lists of potential symptoms for COVID-19. However, the World Health Organisation includes them as ‘less common symptoms’.

The British Association of Dermatology says on its website: “skin lesions and rashes are common, and on their own should not necessarily be a cause for concern.” It adds: “Members of the public should be very cautious about trying to self-diagnose COVID-19 based on skin symptoms; rashes and other skin lesions are common and hard to differentiate between without expertise.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Veronique Bataille et al. Diagnostic value of skin manifestation of SARS-CoV-2 infection (2020) medRxiv doi: 10.1101/2020.07.10.20150656 https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.07.10.20150656v1.full.pdf (Accessed 24 July 2020).

 

Reading list

  1. British Association of Dermatology. Five common skin manifestations of COVID-19 identified. April 2020. https://www.skinhealthinfo.org.uk/five-common-skin-manifestations-of-covid-19-identified/ (Accessed 24 July 2020).