为了进一步保护COVID-19在未来的秋季和冬季免受影响,英国政府上周宣布了“历史上最大的流感疫苗接种计划”。

年度流感疫苗通常可供65岁以上的成年人和某些其他弱势群体使用。在2020/21赛季,流感疫苗的适用范围已扩大到更广泛的人群,包括所有50岁以上的成年人或与接触COVID-19的人有密切接触的人群。

这一变化意味着到2020年9月,约有3000万人口将使用流感疫苗,约占英国人口的一半。

 

流感疫苗如何运作?

简而言之,疫苗将少量,无害的生物(例如病毒或细菌)引入体内,即被削弱(减弱)或被杀死(灭活)的生物或遗传材料或分子。这不足以在受体中引起疾病,但会触发免疫反应。该反应包括产生对该生物体特异性的抗体。疫苗接种后,这些独特的抗体会保留在血液中,如果该人再次被该特定生物体感染,则会被激活。

流感是由流感病毒引起的,有几种不同类型。每年流行的流感病毒可导致大多数流感爆发分为两个主要类别,即A和B。在这些广泛的类别中,根据其蛋白质(称为血凝素[H]和神经氨酸酶[N])的不同,其亚型也不同。表面。例如,2009年的“猪流感”大流行是由甲型流感病毒(H1N1)引起的。这些亚型随时间推移会经历进一步的遗传变化,每年会产生不同的毒株。

每年的流感疫苗从每年的9月开始提供,通常涵盖两种A株(H1N1和H3N2)以及B株,预计将在即将来临的秋/冬月份流行。因此,年度疫苗不能预防所有流感病毒,但可以预防最有可能在未来季节引起流感爆发的疫苗。

 

谁通常有资格接种流感疫苗?

在英国,年度流感疫苗适用于被认为最易感染流感或有感染风险的人或与之接触的人。上个季节(2019/2020秋/冬)包括:

  • 65岁以上的成年人
  • 孕妇
  • 小学儿童和2至3岁的幼儿
  • 患有长期疾病的人,包括呼吸系统,心脏,肝脏,肾脏和神经系统疾病,糖尿病和具有免疫抑制作用的人
  • 长期居住/护理设施中的人
  • 从事卫生或社会护理工作的人
  • 弱势人群的照顾者/亲密接触者

两组之间的流感疫苗的具体类型及其使用方法会有所不同。例如,否则,健康的儿童通常会通过鼻喷雾剂接种活弱流感疫苗。老年人和弱势人群通常会通过注射接种灭活的流感疫苗。

 

2020年的建议有何变化?

2020年5月,英国公共卫生(PHE)发布 一封信 认识到COVID-19对医疗保健服务提出的要求和挑战,但强调2020/21秋/冬流感疫苗接种计划“比以往任何时候都重要”,应按计划进行。当时,PHE表示覆盖范围将与去年相同,但表示“如果计划扩大,情况可能会有所改变。”

上周英国政府宣布将扩大资格。 PHE或NHS England关于疫苗资格的详细建议正在等待中。 英国广播公司的新闻 列出了除已符合资格的这些人群之外,现在还将邀请以下人群在2020年秋季进行疫苗接种:

  • 需要屏蔽COVID-19的人以及与他们一起生活的人
  • 七年级的11至12岁儿童(之前的资格仅覆盖小学六年级)
  • 50岁以上的成年人(接种65岁以上的成年人后)

去年,邀请了2500万人接受疫苗接种(尽管只有1500万人接受了疫苗接种)。今年邀请数将增加到3000万。

 

流感疫苗将如何帮助COVID-19大流行?

流感疫苗不会直接阻止某人感染COVID-19。但是,扩大对流感疫苗的资格可能会产生多种影响。

上个2019/20赛季,英格兰有近8,000人死于流感。在流感季节最严重的时候,急性呼吸系统疾病约占所有全科医生的四分之一,占急诊科的五分之一。有可能同时传播COVID和季节性流感而使医疗保健系统不知所措。正如英国公共卫生所说的那样,“预防流感疫苗接种是我们今年冬天减轻对健康和社会护理系统压力的最有效干预措施之一。”

最容易感染流感的人,例如老年人和存在健康问题的人,也是最容易感染COVID-19的人。因此,确保他们接种季节性流感疫苗,以及控制感染和远离社会的措施,将帮助他们保持尽可能的保护。

目的是从9月初开始为合格的人群接种疫苗,到2020年11月结束。

 

参考文献

    1. 英国公共卫生。 全国流感免疫计划2020/2021。该信于2020年5月14日发布。
    2. 英国公共卫生。 在英国进行流感和其他呼吸道病毒的监测。 2019年冬季至2020年。2020年6月
    3. NHS。 流感疫苗概述。 2019年7月16日更新
    4. 疾病预防与控制中心。 流感。 2020年7月24日更新。

In a further effort to protect against the impact of COVID-19 in the coming autumn and winter months, the UK government announced last week ‘the biggest flu vaccination programme in history.’

The annual influenza vaccine is normally available to adults over the age of 65 and certain other vulnerable groups. For the 2020/21 season, eligibility for the influenza vaccine has been extended to wider groups of people including all adults over 50 years or those with close contact of people shielding from COVID-19.

The change will mean that the flu vaccine will become available to around 30 million people in September 2020, around half of the UK population.

 

How does the flu vaccine work?

To explain simply, vaccines introduce a small, harmless amount of an organism (e.g. virus or bacteria) into the body – either a weakened (attenuated) or killed (inactivated) organism or genetic material or molecules from it. This is not enough to cause illness in the recipient, but it will trigger an immune response. This response includes the production of antibodies specific to that organism. These unique antibodies remain in the blood after vaccination and will be activated if the person is ever infected with that particular organism again.

Influenza (flu) is caused by the influenza virus, of which there are several different types. The flu viruses that circulate each year and can cause most flu outbreaks to fall into two main groups, A and B. Within those broad groups there are different subtypes depending on the proteins (called hemagglutinin [H] and neuraminidase [N]) on their surface. For example, the ‘swine flu’ pandemic of 2009 was caused by an influenza virus type A (H1N1). These subtypes then undergo further genetic changes over time which produces different strains each year.

The annual influenza vaccine is given from September each year, and typically covers two A strains (H1N1 and H3N2) along with B strains that are expected to be circulating in the coming autumn/winter months. The annual vaccine will therefore not protect against all flu viruses, but it will protect against those most likely to cause potential flu outbreaks in the coming season.

 

Who is normally eligible for the flu vaccine?

In the UK, the annual influenza vaccine is available to those who are considered most vulnerable and at risk of complications if they get flu or people who come into contact with them. Last season (autumn/winter 2019/2020) this included:

  • Adults aged 65 years and over
  • Pregnant women
  • Children in primary school and younger children aged 2 and 3 years
  • People with long-term medical conditions, including respiratory, heart, liver, kidney and neurological diseases, diabetes and those with immunosuppression
  • People living in long-term residential/care facilities
  • People working in health or social care
  • Carers/close contacts of vulnerable people

The specific type of flu vaccine and how it is given will differ between groups. For example, otherwise healthy children will usually be given the live, weakened flu vaccine via a nasal spray. Older and vulnerable people will usually be given the inactivated flu vaccine via injection.

 

How have the recommendations changed for 2020?

In May 2020, Public Health England (PHE) issued a letter recognising the demands and challenges that COVID-19 has placed upon the healthcare service but emphasising that the autumn/winter 2020/21 flu vaccination programme was ‘more important than ever’ and should go ahead as planned. At that time PHE said that coverage would include the same groups as last year, but said that ‘this may change if the programme is expanded.’

Last week the UK government announced that eligibility would be extended. Detailed advice from the PHE or NHS England on eligibility for the vaccine are awaited. BBC News listed that the following groups will now be invited for vaccination in autumn 2020, in addition to those groups already eligible:

  • People required to shield from COVID-19 and those that live with them
  • Children aged 11 to 12 years in Year 7 (prior eligibility covered only to primary Year 6)
  • Adults aged 50 years and over (after vaccination of those aged over 65 years)

Last year, 25 million were invited to receive vaccination (though only 15 million received accepted). This year would see the number of invites increase to 30 million.

 

How will the flu vaccine help the COVID-19 pandemic?

The influenza vaccine won’t directly prevent someone from becoming infected with COVID-19. However, extending eligibility for the flu vaccine could have several effects.

Last season 2019/20 there were nearly 8,000 deaths in England associated with influenza. At the height of the flu season, acute respiratory illnesses accounted for around a quarter of all GP consultations and 1 in 5 emergency department attendances. There is a risk that the healthcare system could become overwhelmed with both COVID and seasonal flu circulating at the same time. As Public Health England say ‘Flu vaccination is one of the most effective interventions we have to reduce pressure on the health and social care system this winter.’

People who are most vulnerable to flu, such as older adults and those with existing health problems, are also the same people who are most vulnerable to COVID-19. Therefore ensuring they are vaccinated against seasonal flu, alongside infection control and social distancing measures, will help them to remain as protected as possible.

The aim is to commence vaccination of eligible groups from beginning September and complete by end November 2020.

 

Reading list

    1. Public Health England. The national flu immunisation programme 2020/2021. Letter published 14 May 2020.
    2. Public Health England. Surveillance if influenza and other respiratory viruses in the UK. Winter 2019 to 2020. June 2020
    3. NHS. Flu vaccine overview. Updated 16 July 2019
    4. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Influenza (flu). Updated July 24, 2020.