随着COVID-19限制在世界某些地区放宽,随着案件的增加,局部地区或某些国家的限制正在重新施加或收紧。不确定性和恐惧可能很难处理,尤其是与我们的朋友,家人孤立以及对我们日常工作的干扰。

自大流行开始以来,英国国家统计局(ONS)就一直在追踪人们对其健康的担忧。 7月中旬的最新数据显示,将近一半的成年人认为他们的健康受到了大流行的影响,十分之七的成年人说他们感到压力或焦虑。尽管有一些改善的迹象,但自4月以来,这些水平大致保持不变。

这不一定意味着一个人患有需要治疗的精神疾病。当人们担心自己的工作,健康和未来计划时,感到压力和焦虑是对不确定时期的正常反应。重要的是,人们需要与家人或朋友等其他人讨论自己的感受,或者联系支持服务或寻求医疗建议(如果有更多顾虑的话)。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

《泰晤士报》刊登了一篇关于大流行可能对心理健康造成影响的文章,警告说精神疾病发生“海啸”。该文章部分基于皇家精神病医生学院(RCPsych)对成员的调查。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

RCPsych调查在5月初收到了1,369名精神科医生的答复(大约10%的答复率),说明他们在COVID-19锁定后的工作方式发生了变化。

大约42%的精神科医生说,他们看到有严重精神健康问题的紧急求诊者有所增加,而45%的例行任命则有所减少。精神科医生担心仅治疗了最严重的疾病,而精神疾病较轻者则没有得到治疗。人们认为人们会“远离精神保健服务,直到达到危机点”,这可能导致COVID-19高峰期过后病例激增。

自3月份以来,ONS报告追踪了英国成年人样本中的幸福感和情绪。 2020年7月8日至12日那一周,有45%的人表示,大流行正在影响他们的福祉,而且自4月以来,这一比例一直保持不变。三分之二的人说他们感到压力和焦虑,同样比例的人说他们担心自己的未来。大约三分之一的人说,大流行使他们的心理健康恶化,三分之一的人说,他们花太多时间独自一人或感到孤独。

作为 卫生基金会 他说,诸如贫困,工作无保障或失业以及住房贫乏等因素都与不良的心理健康有关。他们说,“良好的心理健康本身就是一项重要资产”,并强调了现在必须解决不平等现象并投资于心理健康,以防止将来出现心理和身体健康问题。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

精神卫生基金会有一些 有用的信息 帮助人们在COVID-19爆发期间照顾自己的心理健康。这些包括关于 如何处理恐惧和焦虑 当我们回到工作场所,商店和社交活动时。

他们说:“关于'新常态'的讨论很多,但常态正在变化,不确定性和风险管理在可预见的未来将成为现实。这对我们许多人来说都不是一件容易的事,特别是在我们仅要应对心理健康的时候。”

建议 专注于当下,而不用担心将来会发生什么,抓住机会尽可能放松一下,并与自己信任的人谈谈自己的感受。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

引用

  1. 皇家精神科医生学院,精神科医生看到需要紧急和急诊护理的患者数量惊人地增加,并预测精神疾病的“海啸”。 https://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/news-and-features/latest-news/detail/2020/05/15/psychiatrists-see-alarming-rise-in-patients-needing-urgent-and-emergency-care (2020年7月29日访问)。
  2. 国家统计局。冠状病毒及其对英国的社会影响:2020年7月17日。 https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/healthandwellbeing/bulletins/coronavirusandthesocialimpactsongreatbritain/17july2020#indicators-of-well-being (2020年7月29日访问)。

 

参考文献

  1. 精神卫生基金会。在冠状病毒爆发期间照顾您的心理健康。 https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/coronavirus/looking-after-your-mental-health-during-coronavirus-outbreak (2020年7月29日访问)。

As COVID-19 restrictions are eased in some parts of the world, restrictions in localised areas or some countries are being re-imposed or tightened as cases rise. Uncertainty and fear can be difficult to manage, especially combined with isolation from our friends, family and disruption to our usual routines.

The UK’s Office for National Statistics (ONS) has been tracking people’s concerns about their wellbeing since the start of the pandemic. Latest figures from mid-July show almost half of adults considered that their wellbeing had been affected by the pandemic, and nearly 7 in 10 said they were feeling stressed or anxious. These levels have remained broadly the same since April, though there are some indicators of improvement.

This does not necessarily mean a person has a mental illness that needs treatment. Feeling stressed and anxious is a normal response to uncertain times when people are worried about their jobs, health and future plans. What is important is that people discuss their feelings with others, such as family or friends, or contact support services or seek medical advice if there is more concern.

 

Where did the story come from?

The Times ran an article about the possible effects of the pandemic on mental health, warning about a ‘tsunami’ of mental illness. The article was partly based on a survey of members carried out by the Royal College of Psychiatrists (RCPsych).

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The RCPsych survey had responses from 1,369 psychiatrists (about a 10% response rate) in early May about changes in their work patterns following the COVID-19 lockdown.

Some 42% of psychiatrists said they had seen an increase in urgent referrals to see people with severe mental health problems, while 45% had seen more routine appointments fall. Psychiatrists are concerned that only the most severe cases of illness were being treated and those with milder mental health problems were not getting treatment. People are thought to be ‘staying away from mental health services until they reach a crisis point’ which could lead to a surge in cases after the COVID-19 peak has passed.

The ONS report has tracked wellbeing and mood in a sample of adults in the UK population since March. In the week of 8-12 July 2020, 45% of people said the pandemic is affecting their wellbeing, and this proportion has remained about the same since April. Two-thirds said they were stressed and anxious, and the same proportion said they were worried about their future. Around a third said the pandemic had made their mental health worse, and a third said they were spending too much time alone or felt lonely.

As The Health Foundation says, factors such as poverty, insecure work or unemployment, and living in poor housing are all associated with poor mental health. They say that ‘good mental health is an important asset in its own right,’ and highlight the need to address inequalities and invest in mental health now to prevent mental and physical health problems in the future.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The Mental Health Foundation has some useful information to help people look after their mental health during the COVID-19 outbreak. These include tips on how to manage fear and anxiety as we return to the workplace, shops and social events.

They say: “There has been a lot of talk of a ‘new normal’ – but normal is changing and uncertainty, and managing risk, is going to be the reality for the foreseeable future. This is not something that’s comfortable for many of us, particularly when we’re only just about coping with our mental health.”

It advises focusing on the present rather than worrying about what might happen in the future, taking opportunities to relax where possible, and talking to people you trust about how you feel.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Royal College of Psychiatrists, Psychiatrists see alarming rise in patients needing urgent and emergency care and forecast a ‘tsunami’ of mental illness. https://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/news-and-features/latest-news/detail/2020/05/15/psychiatrists-see-alarming-rise-in-patients-needing-urgent-and-emergency-care (Accessed 29 July 2020).
  2. Office for National Statistics. Coronavirus and the social impacts on Great Britain: 17 July 2020. https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/healthandwellbeing/bulletins/coronavirusandthesocialimpactsongreatbritain/17july2020#indicators-of-well-being (Accessed 29 July 2020).

 

Reading list

  1. Mental Health Foundation. Looking after your mental health during the coronavirus outbreak. https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/coronavirus/looking-after-your-mental-health-during-coronavirus-outbreak (Accessed 29 July 2020).