上週,有許多媒體報導說,用於COVID-19的“疫苗”起作用並產生免疫反應。但是事情並沒有那麼簡單–首先,不僅有一種潛在的疫苗,而且即使是有問題的牛津疫苗,研究人員仍然沒有最終證據證明他們需要證明“有效”來預防疾病。

COVID-19大流行使疫苗的研究,開發和生產達到了前所未有的規模。儘管只有26種處於臨床試驗階段,但全球目前正在開發150多種不同的疫苗。最早進行臨床試驗的之一是牛津大學疫苗。該研究小組使用了以前為SARS開發的疫苗技術,並於4月份開始了對1,000人的首次試驗。這顯示出有希望的跡象,表明它是安全的,並且接受者正在產生針對COVID病毒的抗體。因此,該疫苗進入了更大的(第3階段)試驗,首先在英國的10,000人中使用,然後在全球範圍內使用。

引起媒體反應的公告是最早發表的結果,表明人們在接種疫苗後會產生抗體。需要更大的試驗證據來證明它是否可以預防人們患上COVID疾病。由於在第3階段試驗中還至少有5種其他疫苗,我們將不得不拭目以待,證明哪種或多種疫苗可以預防感染。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

牛津大學發表了 新聞稿 在他們的第一個試驗結果發表在同行評審雜誌上之後, 柳葉刀.

 

資訊有什麼依據?

牛津大學疫苗(與阿斯利康公司合作開發)使用腺病毒作為“載體”,將冠狀病毒SARS-CoV-2的遺傳物質帶入細胞。腺病毒是引起輕度呼吸道或胃腸道疾病的非常常見的病毒。腺病毒的複制基因被切除(這意味著它本身不會引起感染),並且已插入編碼SARS-CoV-2上具有特徵性刺突蛋白的基因。這應該意味著該人產生針對這種蛋白質的抗體。

他們的第一項臨床試驗(第1階段)招募了1,000名健康的成年人(18至55歲),並隨機分配給他們接受疫苗或對照品(腦膜炎疫苗)。該試驗的主要目的是觀察疫苗是否安全以及是否可以產生免疫反應。初步發現是積極的:疫苗接種者產生了針對SARS-CoV-2穗突蛋白的抗體,實驗室測試表明這些抗體可以滅活該病毒。疫苗接種者常見發燒,頭痛和肌肉酸痛等副作用,但沒有嚴重的副作用。

有了這些令人鼓舞的結果,該疫苗在5月/ 6月進行了更大的試驗。第三階段招募了10,000名健康成年人,而第二階段子招募了55歲以上的成年人和兒童。此後,在巴西和南非開始了其他使用該疫苗的3期試驗。我們需要等待這些試驗的結果–比較疫苗與對照組的感染率–才能知道疫苗是否確實在“有效”預防感染。

但是牛津疫苗並不是唯一的潛在疫苗:來自不同開發商/製造商的另外五種疫苗也於7月進入了3期試驗。它們使用不同的疫苗技術:三種使用滅活的SARS-CoV-2,兩種使用脂質(脂肪)顆粒從病毒中轉移遺傳物質。像牛津疫苗一樣,所有這些疫苗試驗都需要檢查該疫苗是否安全並可以預防感染。獲得此證據需要多長時間,將取決於測試區域的傳輸速率。

 

專家意見

2020年4月,世界衛生組織發布了 公開聲明 由致力於開發針對COVID-19的疫苗的全球專家簽名。他們說,“雖然通用疫苗需要花費時間才能開發,但疫苗最終可能會有助於控制這一全球性大流行。在此期間,我們讚賞採取社區干預措施以減少病毒的傳播並保護人們。

世衛組織還定期更新 景觀 全球疫苗及其目前的開發階段。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. Folegatti PM等。針對SARS-CoV-2的ChAdOx1 nCoV-19疫苗的安全性和免疫原性:一項1/2期,單盲,隨機對照試驗的初步報告。柳葉刀。 2020年7月20日 https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)31604-4/fulltext
  2. 牛津大學。新聞與事件。一項新的研究表明,牛津冠狀病毒疫苗可產生強大的免疫反應。 (2020年7月31日訪問) https://www.ox.ac.uk/news/2020-07-20-new-study-reveals-oxford-coronavirus-vaccine-produces-strong-immune-response

 

閱讀清單

  1. COVID-19候選疫苗景觀草案。 https://www.who.int/publications/m/item/draft-landscape-of-covid-19-candidate-vaccines
  2. 合作開發COVID-19疫苗的公開聲明。 2020年4月13日。

Last week there were numerous media reports that ‘the vaccine’ for COVID-19 works and produces an immune response. But things aren’t as simple as that – firstly there isn’t just one potential vaccine, and even with the Oxford vaccine in question, researchers still don’t have the ultimate evidence they need to show ‘it works’ to prevent disease.

The COVID-19 pandemic has seen vaccine research, development and production on an unprecedented scale. There are over 150 different vaccines currently in development worldwide, though only 26 are in clinical trials. One of the first to reach clinical trials was the University of Oxford vaccine. The research team used a vaccine technology they had previously developed for SARS, and their first trial in 1,000 people started in April. This showed promising signs that it was safe and that recipients were producing antibodies against the COVID virus. So, the vaccine moved onto larger (phase 3) trials, firstly in 10,000 people in the UK, then globally.

The announcement that has caused a media reaction was first published results showing people produce antibodies following vaccination. Evidence from the larger trials is needed to show if it prevents people getting COVID disease. As there are at least 5 other vaccines also in phase 3 trials, we will have to wait to see which vaccine, or vaccines, will be proven to prevent infection.

 

Where did the story come from?

The University of Oxford issued a press release last week following publication of their first trial results in the peer-reviewed journal, The Lancet.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The University of Oxford vaccine (developed in collaboration with AstraZeneca) uses an adenovirus as a ‘vector’ to carry genetic material from SARS-CoV-2, the coronavirus, into cells. Adenoviruses are very common viruses that cause mild respiratory or gastrointestinal illness. The adenovirus has had its replicating genes cut out (meaning it can’t cause infection itself) and genes that code for the characteristic spike protein on SARS-CoV-2 have been inserted. This should mean the person produces antibodies against this protein.

Their first clinical trial (phase 1) recruited 1,000 healthy adults (aged 18 to 55) and randomly allocated them to receive the vaccine or a comparator (a meningitis vaccine). The main aims of this trial were to see that the vaccine was safe and whether it may be able to produce an immune response. The preliminary findings were positive: vaccine recipients produced antibodies against the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein and laboratory tests have demonstrated that these antibodies can inactivate the virus. Side effects such as feeling feverish, headache and muscle aches were common among vaccine recipients, but there were no serious adverse effects.

With these promising results, the vaccine moved onto larger trials in May/June. The phase 3 recruited 10,000 healthy adults, while a phase 2 subpart has recruited small groups of adults over 55 and children. Since then other phase 3 trials using the vaccine have started in Brazil and South Africa. We need to await the results of these trials – comparing the infection rate in the vaccine vs the control group – to know whether the vaccine actually ‘works’ to prevent infection.

But the Oxford vaccine isn’t the only potential vaccine: at last five other vaccines from different developers/manufacturers also went into phase 3 trials in July. These are using different vaccine technologies: three use inactivated SARS-CoV-2 and two use lipid (fat) particles to transport the genetic material from the virus. Like the Oxford vaccine, all of these vaccines trials will need to look at whether the vaccine is safe and prevents infection. How long it takes to get this evidence will depend on the transmission rate in areas where it is tested.

 

What do trusted sources say?

In April 2020, the WHO issued a public statement signed by experts worldwide who were working towards developing vaccines against COVID-19. They stated ‘while a vaccine for general use takes time to develop, a vaccine may ultimately be instrumental in controlling this worldwide pandemic. In the interim, we applaud the implementation of community intervention measures that reduce the spread of the virus and protect people.’

The WHO also hosts a regularly updated landscape of the global vaccines and their current stage in development.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Folegatti PM, et al. Safety and immunogenicity of the ChAdOx1 nCoV-19 vaccine against SARS-CoV-2: a preliminary report of a phase 1/2, single-blind, randomised controlled trial. The Lancet. 2020 Jul 20. https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)31604-4/fulltext
  2. University of Oxford. News & Events. New study reveals Oxford coronavirus vaccine produces strong immune response. (Accessed 31 July 2020) https://www.ox.ac.uk/news/2020-07-20-new-study-reveals-oxford-coronavirus-vaccine-produces-strong-immune-response

 

Reading list

  1. Draft landscape of COVID-19 candidate vaccines. https://www.who.int/publications/m/item/draft-landscape-of-covid-19-candidate-vaccines
  2. Public statement for collaboration on COVID-19 vaccine development. 13 April 2020.