世衛組織專家說,世界仍處於COVID-19大流行的“大浪潮”中,各國正處於感染高峰和低谷。

儘管有人猜測今年冬天會出現“第二波”感染,但世界衛生組織警告說,我們不應該像普通感冒或流感那樣隨季節變化考慮COVID。儘管有些國家在遏制該病毒方面比其他國家更成功,但我們可以通過社會隔離和其他感染控制措施來控制它。

由於測試制度的差異,很難對不同的國家進行比較。然而, 世界衛生組織的圖表 表明已確認的COVID-19病例在全球範圍內繼續加速發展。在27 7月,世衛組織總幹事 已報告 在過去的六週內,案件總數大約翻了一番。

存在地區差異,例如,自四月份達到頂峰以來,歐洲的病例減少了一半,但每天仍在每天約16,000處運行。英國最近的每日病例在7月29日的低點70和8月1日的高點880之間變化。

調查結果強調了必須避免自滿,保持警惕並繼續遵循區域和國家指導。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

多家媒體,包括 路透社 該新聞社報導了世衛組織冠狀病毒應對小組專家瑪格麗特·哈里斯(Margaret Harris)博士的評論,他在新聞發布會上說:“我們處於第一波。這將是一大波浪。它會上下波動。

資訊有什麼依據?

世衛組織的疾病監測 研究表明,在世界各地確診的COVID-19病例仍然很高,一些大洲和國家的病例比其他國家多。

截至7月底,美洲確診病例總數最高,為970萬,其次是歐洲,為350萬,東南亞為220萬。就單個國家而言,美國仍然是最高的確診病例,為460萬例。儘管病例從4月底開始下降,但在6月中旬又開始急劇上升,現在比感染初期的峰值要高得多。目前,他們每天報告約50,000個新病例。

自6月中旬以來,印度的感染率一直在急劇上升,現在它們每天還報告約50,000新病例,並且每天變化相對較小。

自4月底以來,包括新西蘭在內的一些國家在遏制社區蔓延方面非常成功。但是,自6月底以來,即使是新西蘭,大多數日子也報告了1-4個新病例。

哈里斯博士 說過 人們不應該在季節性感染(例如流感)方面考慮SARS-CoV-2。她說,今年夏天美國的高感染率表明該病毒不會在溫暖的月份消失。但是,她警告說,各國可能需要為與流感相吻合的COVID-19感染做好準備,並在冬季使衛生服務承受更大壓力。

倫敦國王學院基因流行病學教授蒂姆·斯佩克特(Tim Spector)於8月3日星期一在英國廣播公司第四電台發表講話,同意英國仍處於第一波感染浪潮中,隨著感染水平的上升,英國各地出現“漣漪”和秋天。

 

專家意見

世衛組織緊急事務委員會在一份聲明中說,他們“一致認為,大流行仍然構成國際關注的公共衛生緊急情況”。聲明警告說:“委員會強調了這一COVID-19大流行的預期持續時間,並指出了持續的社區,國家,地區和全球應對工作的重要性。

委員會鼓勵所有個人,特別是年輕人和社區繼續在預防和控制COVID-19的傳播中發揮積極作用。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. 世界衛生組織。世衛組織冠狀病毒疾病(COVID-19)儀表板,2020年8月4日。 https://covid19.who.int/ (2020年8月6日訪問)。

 

閱讀清單

  1. 在《國際衛生條例(2005)》緊急委員會第四次會議上就冠狀病毒疾病(COVID-19)的爆發發表的聲明。 https://www.who.int/news-room/detail/01-08-2020-statement-on-the-fourth-meeting-of-the-international-health-regulations-(2005)-emergency-committee-regarding-the-outbreak-of-coronavirus-disease-(covid-19) (2020年8月6日訪問)。

The world is still in ‘one big wave’ of the COVID-19 pandemic, with countries experiencing peaks and troughs of infection, a WHO expert has said.

While there has been speculation about a ‘second wave’ of infections this winter, WHO has cautioned that we should not think of COVID like the common cold or influenza, which follow seasonal variation. We are in a position to control it through social distancing and other infection control measures, although some countries appear to have been more successful at containing the virus than others.

It is difficult to compare different countries with certainty because of variation in testing regimes. However, graphs from the WHO show that confirmed COVID-19 cases continue to accelerate globally. On the 27th July, the WHO director general reported that the total number of cases had roughly doubled in the previous six weeks.

Regional differences exist, for example, cases in Europe have halved since a peak in April, but they are still running at around 16,000 a day with a weekly variation. Recent daily cases in the UK have varied between a low of 70 on 29 July and a high of 880 on 1 August.

The findings highlight the need to avoid complacency, remain vigilant, and continue to follow regional and national guidance.

Where did the story come from?

Several media outlets, including the Reuters news agency, reported comments by Dr Margaret Harris, an expert on the WHO coronavirus response team, who said in a press briefing: ‘We are in the first wave. It’s going to be one big wave. It’s going to go up and down a bit.’

What is the basis for the claim?

Disease monitoring by the WHO shows that confirmed cases of COVID-19 remain high around the world, with some continents and countries contributing more cases than others.

Up to the end of July, the Americas have the highest total number of confirmed cases at 9.7 million, followed by Europe at 3.5 million and South-East Asia at 2.2 million. By individual country, the US remains the highest at 4.6 million confirmed cases. Although cases declined from the end of April, they began to rise again sharply in the middle of June and are now much higher than at the earlier peak of infections. Currently, they are reporting around 50,000 new cases a day.

Infections in India have continued to rise steeply since mid-June, and they are also now reporting about 50,000 new cases a day, with relatively small daily variations.

Some countries, including New Zealand, have been very successful at containing community spread, with only a handful of cases since the end of April. However, even New Zealand has reported one to four new cases most days since the end of June.

Dr Harris said that people should not think about SARS-CoV-2 in terms of seasonal infections, like flu. She said the high rates of infection in the US this summer demonstrated that the virus does not disappear in the warmer months. However, she warned that countries may need to prepare for COVID-19 infections coinciding with flu and putting health services under greater strain in winter.

Speaking on BBC Radio 4 on Monday 3 August, Professor Tim Spector, professor of genetic epidemiology at Kings College London, agreed that the UK was still in the first wave of infection, with ‘ripples’ in different parts of the country as infection levels rise and fall.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The Emergency Committee of the WHO said in a statement that they ‘unanimously agreed that the pandemic still constitutes a public health emergency of international concern’. The statement warned: ‘The Committee highlighted the anticipated lengthy duration of this COVID-19 pandemic, noting the importance of sustained community, national, regional, and global response efforts.

The Committee encouraged all individuals, in particular young people, and communities to continue to play an active role in preventing and controlling transmission of COVID-19.’

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. World Health Organisation. WHO Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Dashboard, 4 August 2020. https://covid19.who.int/ (Accessed 6 August 2020).

 

Reading list

  1. Statement on the fourth meeting of the International Health Regulations (2005) Emergency Committee regarding the outbreak of coronavirus disease (COVID-19). https://www.who.int/news-room/detail/01-08-2020-statement-on-the-fourth-meeting-of-the-international-health-regulations-(2005)-emergency-committee-regarding-the-outbreak-of-coronavirus-disease-(covid-19) (Accessed 6 August 2020).