科學家們已經研究出一種酶的結構,該酶可以幫助SARS-CoV-2病毒侵入人體細胞並逃脫免疫系統。希望這一發現可以幫助從事研發抗COVID-19藥物的人們。

研究人員發現,這種病毒產生的酶會在病毒遺傳物質(稱為信使RNA)上加一個“帽”。

蓋子偽裝了病毒,使其能夠進入並接管細胞並開始復制,而免疫系統卻沒有註意到。從理論上講,如果可以開發出使酶失活的藥物,使其無法產生這種上限,那麼免疫系統可能會更好地抵抗這種感染。

科學家正在繼續發現有關SARS-CoV-2如何工作的更多信息。但是,現在還不知道這些發現是否可用於開發新的抗病毒治療還為時過早。藥物開發和測試是一個通常需要數年而不是數月的過程。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

德克薩斯大學的研究人員進行了這項研究,該研究結果發表在同行評審的科學雜誌上。 自然通訊。該發現已在媒體上報導,包括 天空新聞。一些研究人員宣稱潛在的利益衝突是因為他們與從事藥物開發和其他生物干預措施的公司有關聯。

 

資訊有什麼依據?

在他們 研究 研究人員旨在了解SARS-CoV-2“加帽”或偽裝其遺傳編碼材料(信使RNA)的機制,以入侵宿主細胞並逃避免疫系統的檢測。

研究人員創建了由SARS-CoV-2產生的酶(nsp-16)的純化樣品,並使用專門的X射線技術研究了其3D結構及其工作原理。

據此,他們發現該酶在病毒的信使RNA末端添加了一個甲基。這模仿了細胞自身的信使RNA,使其看起來像是細胞正常遺傳密碼的一部分。這樣,它不會觸發免疫反應,而是可以進入細胞。

如果有可能阻止nsp-16起作用,則免疫系統應將病毒識別為外來病毒並銷毀它,以防止其在宿主內復制並引起疾病。

先前關於引起2004年SARS的冠狀病毒的實驗室研究支持了這一理論。當給予一定劑量的SARS(通常證明是致命的)時,使nsp-16酶失活可以阻止小鼠生病。 SARS-CoV-2尚未進行類似的研究。但是,發現它產生的nsp-16酶的結構,是可能產生可能阻止其運轉的新藥的第一步。

作者說:“我們的工作提供了一個堅實的框架,可以通過針對nsp16的不同[結合位點]設計治療方式,從而治療COVID-19和新出現的冠狀病毒。”

儘管研究人員很樂觀,但藥物開發是一個循序漸進的過程,通常需要很多年。

 

專家意見

世界衛生組織在其網站上說:“儘管某些西方,傳統或家庭療法可能會提供舒適性並減輕輕度COVID-19的症狀,但尚無藥物可預防或治愈該病。”

世衛組織表示,他們正在“協調開發預防和治療COVID-19的疫苗和藥物的努力,並將在獲得研究結果後繼續提供最新信息。”

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. Viswanathan,T.,Arya,S.,Chan,S.等。 SARS-CoV-2修飾RNA帽的結構基礎。 Nat Commun 11,3718(2020)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-17496-8

 

閱讀清單

  1. 世界衛生組織。關于冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的問答。 (2020年8月4日訪問)

Scientists have worked out the structure of an enzyme that helps the SARS-CoV-2 virus to invade human cells and escape the immune system. It is hoped that the discovery may help those working on developing drugs to combat COVID-19.

Researchers have discovered that the virus produces an enzyme which puts a ‘cap’ on the viral genetic material (called messenger RNA).

The cap camouflages the virus enabling it to enter and take over cells and start to replicate, without the immune system noticing. In theory, if drugs could be developed to deactivate the enzyme so it could not create this cap, the immune system may be better able to fight off the infection.

Scientists are continuing to discover more about how SARS-CoV-2 works. However, it is too soon to know whether these findings could be used to develop a new antiviral treatment. Drug development and testing is a process that usually takes years, not months.

 

Where did the story come from?

Researchers at the University of Texas carried out the research, which was published in the peer-reviewed science journal Nature Communications. The finding was reported in the media, including by Sky News. Several of the researchers declare a potential conflict of interest in that they have association with companies involved in the development of drugs and other biological interventions.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

In their study the researchers were aiming to understand the mechanism by which SARS-CoV-2 ‘caps’  or camouflages its genetic coding material (messenger RNA) in order to invade host cells and escape detection by the immune system.

The researchers created a purified sample of the enzyme (nsp-16) produced by SARS-CoV-2 and used specialised x-ray technology to look at its 3D structure and how it works.

From this they found that the enzyme adds a methyl group to the end of the messenger RNA of the virus. This mimics the cell’s own messenger RNA, making it appear that it is part of the cell’s normal genetic code. In that way it does not trigger an immune response and can enter the cell.

If it was possible to prevent nsp-16 from working, the immune system should then recognise the virus as foreign and destroy it, preventing it from replicating within the host and causing illness.

Previous laboratory studies on the coronavirus that caused 2004 SARS supported this theory. Deactivating the nsp-16 enzyme stopped mice from getting sick when given a dose of SARS that would normally prove fatal. Similar studies have not been conducted with SARS-CoV-2. But discovering the structure of the nsp-16 enzyme that it produces, is the first step towards potentially creating new drugs that might be able to prevent it from operating.

The authors say: ‘our work provides a solid framework from which therapeutic modalities may be designed by targeting different [binding sites] of nsp16… for the treatment of COVID-19 and emerging coronavirus illnesses.’

While the researchers are optimistic, drug development is a gradual process and usually takes many years.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organisation says on its website: ‘While some western, traditional or home remedies may provide comfort and alleviate symptoms of mild COVID-19, there are no medicines that have been shown to prevent or cure the disease.’

The WHO says they are ‘coordinating efforts to develop vaccines and medicines to prevent and treat COVID-19 and will continue to provide updated information as soon research results become available.’

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Viswanathan, T., Arya, S., Chan, S. et al. Structural basis of RNA cap modification by SARS-CoV-2. Nat Commun 11, 3718 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-17496-8

 

Reading list

  1. World Health Organization. Q&A on coronaviruses (COVID-19). (Accessed 4 August 2020)