各種媒體報導說,在COVID-19測試呈陽性的人中,約有十分之八沒有症狀。這是根據英格蘭進行的最大規模的一般人口橫斷面調查得出的結果。 REACT-1研究已向每月超過120,000人發送了病毒檢測試劑盒和在線問卷。

5月,對121,000個樣本進行了0.13%測試,呈陽性。 6月,160,000個樣本的0.08%測試呈陽性。在這兩個月中,測試陽性的70-80%在過去7天內均未出現症狀。

鼻拭子和喉嚨拭子只能在測試時告知患者是否攜帶COVID-19病毒-他們無法告知他們過去是否曾攜帶過該病毒。儘管採集拭子樣本可能會有實際困難,但結果表明,社區中當前的COVID-19患病率很低,並且似乎正在下降。重要的是,感染率持續下降,而且我們沒有再發生病例。

因此,許多患有COVID的人似乎是無症狀的並且可以在不知道的情況下傳播感染,這一事實凸顯了繼續採取感染控制措施的必要性。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

REACT-1研究 (社區傳播的實時評估)已由衛生和社會服務部(DHSC)委託,由倫敦帝國學院與益普索MORI合作進行。 DHSC發表了兩份報告,涵蓋了來自REACT-1的初步結果。 可能六月.

 

資訊有什麼依據?

REACT-1正在招募英格蘭人口的一個樣本,以對COVID-19進行家庭測試。測試包括從鼻子和喉嚨中抽出拭子,以查看它們當前是否攜帶病毒。要求參與者填寫在線問卷。它涵蓋了他們的年齡,性別,種族,社會經濟背景,醫療健康狀況以及過去7天內有關症狀,接觸和日常活動的一系列其他問題,包括使用商店,公共交通工具,酒吧,餐館和休閒設施。

2020年5月的主要結果:

  • 返回了120,610個拭子,其中159個– 0.13% –呈陽性
  • 呈陽性的患者中的69%報告在過去7天中沒有症狀
  • R率(一個感染者造成的繼發感染數)估計為0.57
  • 關鍵工作者最有可能呈陽性反應–護理人員0.71%,醫護人員0.47%,其他關鍵人員0.17%
  • 其他與測試陽性率更高相關的因素:最近與疑似病例接觸過,亞洲種族和較年輕的年齡(18-24)組

2020年6月的主要結果:

  • 歸還了159,199個拭子,其中123個– 0.077% –呈陽性
  • 呈陽性的患者中的81%在過去7天中未報告任何症狀
  • R率為0.58 –與5月份基本相同
  • 關鍵員工和其他人之間的患病率不再存在差異
  • 呈陽性反應的機會較高的因素:最近接觸疑似病例,亞洲人,黑人和其他種族,但按年齡段無差異

這項研究無法告知高風險情況下的COVID患病率,例如醫院或住宅中可能更高的情況。但在一般社區中,該病毒的流行率似乎較低且正在下降。

但是,無症狀運輸的高比率以及5月和6月的傳輸率幾乎保持不變這一事實突出表明,有必要避免自滿。感染率可能會在一個月內波動,我們不知道7月或8月會自動遵循同樣的下降趨勢。

我們需要繼續遵循政府關於社會隔離,手部消毒和使用口罩的建議,以確保感染率不會再次開始上升,尤其是在進入秋季和冬季流感季節時。

 

專家意見

在一個 政府新聞稿衛生與社會保健部長馬特·漢考克(Matt Hancock)表示:“這項研究著重指出,由於每個人的努力和犧牲,以及針對性的措施來抵抗這種病毒在保健和護理環境中的傳播,我們能夠將感染率保持在較低水平解除了一些限制。”

但是,他繼續說,如果人們出現任何症狀,應該進行測試並向NHS Test and Trace提供詳細信息,他們仍然應該自我隔離,以便可以控制病毒。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. 倫敦帝國理工學院。 社區傳播實時評估(REACT)研究 (2020年8月10日訪問)
  2. 衛生和社會保健部。 REACT-1:2020年5月對冠狀病毒社區傳播的實時評估(COVID-19)。 (2020年7月15日發布)
  3. 衛生和社會保健部。 REACT-1:2020年6月對冠狀病毒社區傳播的實時評估(COVID-19)。 (2020年8月6日發布)

Various media sources have reported that about 8 in 10 people who test positive for COVID-19 have no symptoms. This follows results from the largest cross-sectional survey of the general population being carried out in England. The REACT-1 study has been sending viral testing kits and online questionnaires to over 120,000 people each month.

In May, 0.13% of 121,000 samples tested positive. In June, 0.08% of 160,000 samples tested positive. In both months, 70-80% of those testing positive had no symptoms in the past seven days.

The nasal and throat swabs only tell whether the person is carrying the COVID-19 virus at the time of testing – they cannot inform whether they’ve had it in the past. Although there may be practical difficulties in taking the swab sample, the results suggest that the current prevalence of COVID-19 in the community is very low and appears to be declining. The important thing is that the infection rate continues to fall and we do not experience a resurgence of cases.

Therefore the fact that many people with COVID appear to be asymptomatic and could transmit the infection without knowing it, highlights the need to continue to follow infection control measures.

 

Where did the story come from?

The REACT-1 study (Real-time Assessment of Community Transmission) has been commissioned by the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) and is being conducted by Imperial College London in collaboration with Ipsos MORI. DHSC has published two reports covering the preliminary results of REACT-1 from May and June.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

REACT-1 is recruiting a sample of the population in England to do a home test for COVID-19. The test involves taking a swab from the nose and throat to see whether they are currently carrying the virus. Participants are asked to complete an online questionnaire. This covers their age, gender, ethnicity, socioeconomic background, medical health, and a range of other questions on symptoms, contacts and daily activities in the past 7 days, including use of shops, public transport, pubs, eateries and leisure facilities.

Main results for May 2020:

  • 120,610 swabs were returned and 159 – 0.13% – were positive
  • 69% of those testing positive reported no symptoms in the past 7 days
  • The R-rate (number of secondary infections resulting from one infected person) was estimated at 0.57
  • Key workers were most likely to test positive – 0.71% of care workers, 0.47% of healthcare workers, 0.17% of other key workers
  • Other factors associated with a higher chance of testing positive: recent contact with a suspected case, Asian ethnicity and younger age (18-24) group

Main results for June 2020:

  • 159,199 swabs were returned and 123 – 0.077% – were positive
  • 81% of those testing positive reported no symptoms in the past 7 days
  • The R-rate was 0.58 – essentially the same as May
  • There was no longer a difference in prevalence between key workers and other people
  • Factors associated with a higher chance of testing positive: recent contact with a suspected case, Asian, Black and other ethnicities, but no difference by age group

This study cannot inform COVID prevalence among higher risk settings, such as in hospitals or residential homes, where it may be higher. But in the general community, the prevalence of the virus appears to be low and declining.

However, both the high rate of asymptomatic carriage and the fact that the transmission rate has remained much the same for May and June, highlight the need to avoid complacency. Infection rates could fluctuate by the month, and we do not know that July or August is automatically going to follow the same downward trend.

We need to continue to follow government recommendations around social distancing, hand sanitisation and use of face masks to ensure that infection rates do not start to rise again, particularly as we go into the autumn and winter flu season.

 

What do trusted sources say?

In a government press release, Health and Social Care Secretary Matt Hancock was quoted: “This research highlights how, thanks to everyone’s efforts and sacrifice, alongside targeted measures to counter the spread of this virus in health and care settings, we were able to keep rates of infection low as some restrictions were lifted.”

However, he continued that people should still self-isolate if they experience any symptoms, seek testing and provide their details to NHS Test and Trace so that the virus can be kept under control.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Imperial College London. Real-time Assessment of Community Transmission (REACT) Study (Accessed 10 August 2020)
  2. Department of Health and Social Care. REACT-1: Real-time assessment of community transmission of coronavirus (COVID-19) in May 2020. (Published 15 July 2020)
  3. Department of Health and Social Care. REACT-1: Real-time assessment of community transmission of coronavirus (COVID-19) in June 2020. (Published 6 August 2020)