英国的科学家们已经开始了一个项目,测试废水中的污水中是否含有SARS-CoV-2片段,该病毒可导致COVID-19。如果成功,该项目可以帮助发现感染的上升情况,并充当“早期预警”系统来帮助控制疫情。

该研究涉及班戈,巴斯,爱丁堡,克兰菲尔德,兰开斯特,纽卡斯尔,牛津和谢菲尔德的大学以及伦敦卫生与热带医学学院的科学家。

目的是定期从英国大城市的废水处理场取样。如果在一个区域中检测到病毒水平升高,则对废水系统中的不同点进行测试可能会使科学家将其范围缩小到特定区域。在医生开始发现有症状或阳性检查结果的人增多之前,这种情况最多可能发生2周,因此希望可以采取早期缓解措施。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

英国广播公司的新闻 报告称,实验室已经开始测试英格兰44家污水处理厂的样品。该计划由 英国生态水文学中心,位于威尔士班戈。这项工作是与Defra,环境机构,公共卫生机构和自来水公司合作进行的。

期刊中的新闻稿 自然研究 在今年早些时候也涵盖了这个问题。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

新闻稿 报道称,研究表明,感染SARS-CoV-2的人在感染后三天内(通常在症状出现之前)就在粪便中脱落了病毒遗传物质(RNA)的片段。在大流行初期,在几个国家的污水系统中也发现了SARS-CoV-2 RNA的片段。

但是,很难创建可靠的测试来检测在被许多其他微生物和化学物质污染的废水中可能以非常低的水平存在的SARS-CoV-2遗传物质的片段。也有人担心开发这些测试系统可能会从医疗保健系统中消耗资源。

英国计划 打算对污水网络不同部分的废水进行采样和测试,以识别潜在暴发的地理区域。这可以充当“预警”系统,并让公共卫生官员在知道是否需要重新实施当地封锁措施的情况下,有7到10天的领先优势。

目前尚无证据表明粪便中的RNA片段可引起COVID-19感染,尽管尚不能确定。部分研究旨在回答该问题。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

英国食品和农村事务部表示:“全国范围内的污水处理厂的采样工作将很快开始。收集的数据将用于改进方法,并将其输入到联合生物安全中心(JBC)创建的Covid-19警报系统中。

“技术还处于起步阶段,因此政府和权力下放的政府合作伙伴正在与学者,英国研究与创新,自然环境研究委员会以及自来水公司密切合作,以开发和测试这种尖端方法。”

世卫组织说:“迄今为止,尚无证据证明COVID-19病毒在水或污水中的存活。”

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 英国系统开始从废水中估算COVID-19病例。英国生态水文学中心。 https://www.ceh.ac.uk/press/work-begins-uk-system-estimating-covid-19-cases-wastewater (2020年8月13日访问)

 

参考文献

  1. 环境,粮食和农村事务部。测量废水中冠状病毒患病率的小组。 https://www.gov.uk/government/news/group-to-measure-for-coronavirus-prevalence-in-waste-water (2020年8月13日访问)

Scientists across the UK have begun a project to test sewage in wastewater for fragments of SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. If successful, the project could help spot rises in infections and act as an ‘early warning’ system to help control outbreaks.

The research involves scientists from the universities of Bangor, Bath, Edinburgh, Cranfield, Lancaster, Newcastle, Oxford and Sheffield, plus the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.

The aim is to take regular samples from wastewater sites in big cities around the UK. If raised levels of the virus are detected in one area, testing different points in the wastewater system might allow scientists to narrow it down to a specific area. This could happen up to 2 weeks before doctors start to detect an increase of people with symptoms or positive test results, and so hopefully allow for early mitigation measures.

 

Where did the story come from?

BBC News reported that laboratories had started testing samples from 44 treatment plants in England. The programme is being led by the UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, based in Bangor, Wales. The work is being carried out in partnership with Defra, environment agencies, public health bodies and water companies.

A press release in the journal Nature Research also covered the issue earlier this year.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The press release reported that studies have demonstrated that people infected with SARS-CoV-2 shed fragments of the virus’ genetic material (RNA) in their faeces within three days of infection, which is usually before symptoms appear. Fragments of SARS-CoV-2 RNA were also detected in sewage systems in several countries in the early stages of the pandemic.

However, it has been difficult to create a reliable test to detect fragments of SARS-CoV-2 genetic material, which may be present at very low levels, in wastewater that is contaminated by many other microorganisms and chemicals. There were also concerns that developing these testing systems may detract resources from the healthcare system.

The UK programme is intending to sample and test wastewater from different parts of the sewage network to identify the geographic area of potential outbreaks. This could act as an ‘early warning’ system, and give public health officials an estimated 7-10 day head start in knowing whether there is a need to reintroduce local lockdown measures.

There is currently no evidence that fragments of RNA in faeces can cause COVID-19 infection, although this is not certain. Part of the research will aim to answer that question.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The UK Department for Food and Rural Affairs said: ‘Sampling from sewage treatment works around the country will begin shortly. Data gathered will be used to refine the approach and feed into the Covid-19 Alert System created by the Joint Biosecurity Centre (JBC).

‘Techniques are still in their infancy, so the government and Devolved Administration partners are working closely with academics, UK Research and Innovation and the Natural Environment Research Council and water companies in developing and testing this cutting-edge approach.’

The WHO says: ‘There is no evidence to date on the survival of the COVID-19 virus in water or sewage.’

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Work begins on UK system for estimating COVID-19 cases from wastewater. UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology. https://www.ceh.ac.uk/press/work-begins-uk-system-estimating-covid-19-cases-wastewater (Accessed 13 August 2020)

 

Reading list

  1. Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. Group to measure coronavirus prevalence in wastewater. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/group-to-measure-for-coronavirus-prevalence-in-waste-water (Accessed 13 August 2020)