已发现从严重的COVID-19疾病中康复的人患病的风险很高,包括焦虑,抑郁和创伤后应激障碍(PTSD)。

一项意大利研究包括402名曾以COVID-19入院的成年人。一个月后,56%达到了公认的精神健康标准,其中包括42%焦虑症和28% PTSD。妇女和以前有精神健康问题的人更容易受到影响。

这些发现并不一定意味着COVID-19感染直接导致了精神健康问题。在某些情况下,大脑中的炎症可能会影响神经和心理健康,但医生仍对此有所了解。精神健康最有可能受到多种其他因素的影响,例如患有严重威胁生命的疾病的压力和焦虑,由于感染风险而导致的隔离,污名或与工作有关的因素。

研究人员呼吁从COVID-19中康复的人们进行心理健康监测,以便他们能够获得所需的任何护理和治疗。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

守护者 报道 研究 该研究由意大利米兰圣拉斐尔医院和大学的研究人员进行,并发表在同行评审的《大脑行为与免疫》杂志上。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

该研究包括402名COVID-19成人,他们在2020年4月至2020年6月期间到医院的急诊室就诊。三百名因COVID-19肺炎入院,其他人则在家中接受治疗。

在出院或A&E评估后一个月,由精神科医生对所有患者进行了评估,并完成了症状问卷以评估一系列精神疾病。

至少一半(56%)符合至少一种心理健康状况的公认标准:

  • 42%有焦虑症的症状
  • 40%有失眠症状
  • 31%有抑郁症的症状
  • 28%有创伤后应激障碍(PTSD)症状
  • 20%患有强迫症

妇女,有精神健康问题史的人以及在家中管理的人都更有可能出现精神健康症状。

就血液炎症标志物或血氧水平而言,与COVID-19严重性标志物没有明确联系。

先前对2004年SARS和2012年MERS(中东呼吸综合征)冠状病毒患者的研究也发现,他们患病后会出现精神疾病的风险增加。但是,不可能从这项研究中了解精神健康问题的直接原因,并且发病可能受到多种因素的影响。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

NHS英格兰 已发布有关COVID-19住院患者康复需求的指南。

声明指出:“出院时应给所有患者及其家人书面和口头信息,详细说明重症和重症监护对心理的潜在影响,包括康复支持的详细信息以及如果心理问题持续存在时如何寻求更多帮助。这些最有可能包括焦虑症,抑郁症和创伤后应激障碍。

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 马扎MG等。 COVID-19幸存者的焦虑和抑郁:炎症和临床预测因子的作用。 《大脑行为与免疫力2020》。 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbi.2020.07.037 (2020年8月14日访问)。

 

参考文献

  1. NHS英格兰:从COVID-19中康复的住院病人的后期护理需求。 2020年8月3日。 https://www.england.nhs.uk/coronavirus/wp-content/uploads/sites/52/2020/06/C0705-aftercare-needs-of-inpatients-recovering-from-covid-19-aug-2020.pdf (2020年8月14日访问)。

People recovering from severe COVID-19 illness have been found to have a high risk of conditions including anxiety, depression and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

An Italian study included 402 adults who had presented to hospital with COVID-19. One month later, 56% met recognised criteria for a mental health condition, including 42% with anxiety and 28% with PTSD. Women, and people who’d previously had mental health problems, were more likely to be affected.

The findings do not necessarily mean that COVID-19 infection has directly caused mental health problems. It is possible that inflammation in the brain could have effects on neurological and mental health in some cases, but doctors are still building an understanding of this. It is most likely that mental health is being influenced by multiple other factors such as the stress and anxiety of having a severe, life-threatening illness, isolation due to infection risk, stigma or work-related factors.

The researchers call for people recovering from COVID-19 to have their mental health monitored so that they can receive any care and treatment that they need.

 

Where did the story come from?

The Guardian reported on the study which was conducted by researchers at San Raffaele Hospital and University in Milan, Italy, and published in the peer-reviewed journal Brain Behaviour and Immunity.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The study included 402 adults with COVID-19 who presented to the hospital’s accident and emergency department between April and June 2020. Three hundred were admitted to hospital for COVID-19 pneumonia while the others were managed at home.

All patients were assessed by a psychiatrist and completed symptom questionnaires to assess a range of mental health disorders, one month after hospital discharge or A&E assessment.

More than half (56%) met recognised criteria for at least one mental health condition:

  • 42% had symptoms of anxiety disorder
  • 40% had symptoms of insomnia
  • 31% had symptoms of depression
  • 28% had symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • 20% had symptoms of obsessive-compulsive disorder

Women, people who had a history of mental health problems, and people who were managed at home, were all found more likely to have mental health symptoms.

There was no clear link with markers of COVID-19 severity in terms of blood inflammatory markers or blood oxygen levels.

Previous studies of people with the coronavirus illnesses of 2004 SARS and 2012 MERS (Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome) also found they had a raised risk of mental health disorders after their illness. However, it is not possible to know the direct cause of mental health problems from this study, and onset may be influenced by multiple factors.

 

What do trusted sources say?

NHS England has published guidance on the rehabilitation needs of people hospitalised with COVID-19.

This states that ‘All patients and their families should be given written and verbal information at discharge detailing the potential psychological impact of critical illness and critical care treatment, including details of rehabilitation support and how to seek additional help if psychological problems persist. These are most likely to include anxiety, depression and post-traumatic stress disorder.’

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Mazza MG et al. Anxiety and depression in COVID-19 survivors: role of inflammatory and clinical predictors. Brain Behaviour and Immunity 2020. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbi.2020.07.037 (Accessed 14 August 2020).

 

Reading list

  1. NHS England: Aftercare needs of inpatients recovering from COVID-19. 3 August 2020. https://www.england.nhs.uk/coronavirus/wp-content/uploads/sites/52/2020/06/C0705-aftercare-needs-of-inpatients-recovering-from-covid-19-aug-2020.pdf (Accessed 14 August 2020).