在大流行的早期,人們已經認識到存在現有健康問題(包括心臟或其他血管疾病)的人可能有更高的COVID-19並發症風險。另外,開始出現的是COVID-19本身可能會引起血液凝固性疾病,包括心髒病發作和中風。

英國心臟基金會(BHF)已發布有關COVID-19及其對患有心髒病的人的意義的指南。它通過特定的診斷為人們提供信息,例如心絞痛,高血壓或心律問題。最重要的信息是,“任何患有心髒病的人都被認為患有Covid-19嚴重並發症的風險增加。如果您也超過70歲,那麼您面臨的風險尤其高。”

BHF建議,除非英國處於最高風險人群中,否則任何人都無需再對其進行屏蔽(局部禁閉區除外),這些人群包括進行過心臟移植手術的任何人,懷孕且患有心髒病的人,或者建議採取以下行動進行屏蔽的人:醫生。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

英國心臟基金會在他們的雜誌上發布了針對心血管疾病患者的COVID建議 心事。該信息最後更新於2020年8月3日。

英國心臟基金會會提供什麼建議?

英國心臟基金會會根據特定的心血管疾病狀況,向其醫學專家提供建議。這是根據條件以問答形式給出的。

總體而言,BHF強調患有心血管疾病並不會使您更容易感染COVID-19,但是如果您感染了該病毒,則您發生並發症的風險更高。他們將三種風險級別描述為:

  • 高風險
  • 風險特別高
  • 風險最大(極度脆弱)

例如,患有心血管疾病且超過70歲或患有腎臟或肺部疾病並存的人會自動被歸類為“特別高風險”類別。任何接受過心臟移植的人被認為是“風險最高”。

對於糖尿病,高血壓,心絞痛,過去的心髒病發作或心力衰竭等常見疾病,建議通常涵蓋:

  • 該病被認為是高風險的-在特定情況下特別是高風險
  • 繼續服用任何處方藥以保持病情良好控制的重要性,這可能會降低風險
  • 認真遵循關於疏遠社交和洗手的建議,並限制與不同人的親密互動次數
  • 針對特定情況的建議,例如在鎖定解除後保持安全並返回工作場所
  • 意識到可能會進一步增加風險的其他生活方式因素,例如避免吸煙,過量飲酒,保持體育鍛煉,飲食均衡和在必要時減肥

對於其他特定情況,例如心臟瓣膜或心律問題或先天性心髒病,建議則更具可變性和針對性。例如,BHF指出,沒有證據表明COVID-19影響起搏器或植入設備的功能,但是一個人的風險將取決於插入該裝置的具體原因。他們還指出,缺乏關於房顫常見的心律問題是否與增加風險相關的證據。

專家意見

歐洲心髒病學會 對COVID-19大流行期間的心血管疾病的診斷和管理提供指導。這解釋了SARS-CoV-2病毒可能對心血管系統的影響,以及血凝塊,心肌損傷和心律問題是公認的嚴重感染並發症。它還強調指出,現有的心血管疾病,尤其是年齡較大的人,與COVID-19感染的並發症風險和死亡率增加相關。

該指南為衛生專業人員提供了建議,包括優先診治的分診系統,對心髒病患者的保護措施以及特定疾病的管理。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. 英國心臟基金會。 冠狀病毒:如果您患有心髒病或循環系統疾病,這對您意味著什麼。心事雜誌。 2020年8月3日發布。

 

閱讀清單

  1. 歐洲心髒病學會。 ESC在COVID-19大流行期間診斷和管理CV疾病的指南。 2020年6月10日最後更新。

Early in the course of the pandemic it was recognised that people with existing health problems, including heart or other vascular diseases, may be at higher risk of complications from COVID-19. Separately, it began to emerge that COVID-19 may itself cause blood clotting disorders, including heart attacks and strokes.

The British Heart Foundation (BHF) has issued guidance on COVID-19 and what it means for people with existing heart disease. It provides information for people by specific diagnosis, such as angina, high blood pressure or heart rhythm problems. The over-arching message is that “anyone with a heart condition is considered at increased risk of more severe complications of Covid-19. If you’re also over 70, you’re at particularly high risk.”

BHF advise that no one in the UK needs to shield anymore (excluding localised lockdown areas) unless they are in the highest risk groups which include anyone who’s had a heart transplant, anyone who is pregnant and has heart disease, or if advised to shield by a doctor.

Where did the story come from?

Advice on COVID for people with cardiovascular disease was published by the British Heart Foundation in their magazine Heart Matters. The information was last updated on 3 August 2020.

What advice does the British Heart Foundation give?

The British Heart Foundation gives advice from their medical experts according to a specific cardiovascular condition. This is given in a question and answer format by condition.

In general, the BHF emphasise that having a cardiovascular condition doesn’t make you more likely to catch COVID-19, but that if you get the virus you are at a higher risk of complications. They describe three levels of risk as:

  • high risk
  • particularly high risk
  • at most risk (extremely vulnerable)

For example, having cardiovascular disease and being over 70 years of age or having co-existing kidney or lung disease automatically places someone in the ‘particularly high risk’ category. Anyone who’s had a heart transplant is considered to be ‘at most risk’.

For common conditions such as diabetes, high blood pressure, angina, past heart attacks or heart failure, the advice generally covers:

  • that the condition is recognised to be high risk – or particularly high risk in specified cases
  • the importance of continuing to take any prescribed medications to keep the condition well-controlled which may reduce risk
  • carefully following advice on social distancing and handwashing and limiting the number of close interactions with different people
  • advice for specific scenarios, such as staying safe as lockdown eases and returning to workplaces
  • being aware of other lifestyle factors that may further increase risk, such as avoiding smoking, excess alcohol, staying physically active, eating a balanced diet and losing weight if necessary

For other specific conditions, such as heart valve or rhythm problems or congenital heart conditions, the advice is more variable and specific. For example, BHF notes that there is no evidence that COVID-19 affects the function of pacemakers or implanted devices, but a person’s risk will depend on the specific reason this was inserted. They also note the lack of evidence on whether or not the common heart rhythm problem of atrial fibrillation is associated with increased risk.

What do trusted sources say?

The European Cardiology Society has guidance on the diagnosis and management of cardiovascular disease during the COVID-19 pandemic. This explains the effects that the SARS-CoV-2 virus may have upon the cardiovascular system and the fact that blood clots, heart muscle damage and heart rhythm problems are recognised complications of severe infection. It also highlights that existing cardiovascular disease, particularly in a person of increased age, is associated with increased risk of complications and mortality in COVID-19 infection.

The guidance gives recommendations for health professionals, including triage systems to prioritise care, protective measures for cardiology patients, and management of specific conditions.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. British Heart Foundation. Coronavirus: what it means for you if you have heart or circulatory disease. Heart Matters Magazine. Published 03 August 2020.

 

Reading list

  1. European Society of Cardiology. ESC Guidance for the Diagnosis and Management of CV Disease during the COVID-19 Pandemic. Last update 10 June 2020.