现在,全球已有几篇关于感染SARS-CoV-2(引起COVID-19的病毒)的妇女所生婴儿的报道。这些婴儿中的绝大多数未对该病毒进行阳性测试或出现任何呼吸问题。

现在有一些病例报告似乎表明感染可以从孕妇传播到未出生的婴儿,穿过胎盘。在法国的一份报告中,一名妇女出生的婴儿在怀孕后期因COVID-19而生病。胎盘和新生儿样本对该病毒呈阳性反应。婴儿出生后三天出现了一些神经系统症状,但康复良好,已出院。在另一份美国报告中,一名患有糖尿病的孕妇感染了COVID-19,胎盘样本再次检测为阳性。婴儿在出生后1-2天测试呈阳性,并表现出轻微的呼吸困难,但完全康复。

这种病毒是从孕妇传给未出生婴儿的病例,似乎很少。这两个病例排除了出生后病毒传播的可能性,但是在其他报告中,没有进行彻底的测试,不清楚感染是在子宫内传播还是在出生后传播。令人放心的是,没有报道称新生婴儿因COVID-19变得严重不适。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

守护者 是法国巴黎有关该病例报告的多个新闻媒体之一,该报道已在同行评审的科学杂志上发表 自然通讯 在七月中旬。大约在同一时间, 科学新闻 还报道了美国德克萨斯州的一例。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

这项法国研究报告说,一名孕妇,怀孕35周,因呼吸困难入院,化验SARS-CoV-2呈阳性。男婴通过剖腹产手术,医生从胎盘和婴儿周围的羊水中取样。他们还从婴儿的呼吸管中取出了婴儿的肺部血液和体液。所有样品均检测出SARS-CoV-2感染呈阳性。

尽管婴儿起初看起来并不不适,但在出生后三天,他出现了烦躁,进食不良和肌肉痉挛的症状。脑部扫描显示出可能的炎症迹象,但围绕大脑和脊髓的液体样本对SARS-CoV-2或其他感染性微生物呈阴性。婴儿未接受任何特殊治疗,并在接下来的几天内康复。

在另一份美国报告中,一名COVID-19阳性的孕妇由于糖尿病的妊娠并发症而提前34周分娩。尽管女婴健康,但胎盘的SARS-CoV-2检测呈阳性。直到出生后1-2天,她也出现了轻微的呼吸问题,才呈阳性。她接受了氧气,但不需要通风,因此完全康复。

案例研究仅告诉我们有关单个事件的信息,这种情况可能很少见。我们不知道在分娩时全球有多少孕妇的COVID-19检测呈阳性。在他们当中,我们不知道他们的新生儿也有多少呈阳性反应。这些结果表明,感染可以通过胎盘传播,尽管在其他情况下,很难知道感染是在子宫内传播还是在出生后从母亲传给婴儿。不管传播途径如何,要点是所有感染了COVID的婴儿都已完全康复。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

NHS网站 有关COVID-19和怀孕的有用信息。它指出:“您可能有可能在婴儿出生前将冠状病毒传给婴儿。但是,一旦发生这种情况,婴儿们就会好起来。没有证据表明冠状病毒会引起流产或影响宝宝在妊娠中的发育。”

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Vivanti,AJ,Vauloup-Fellous,C.,Prevot,S。等。经胎盘传播SARS-CoV-2感染。 Nat Commun 11,3572(2020)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-17436-6

 

参考文献

  1. 怀孕和冠状病毒。 NHS.UK网站 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/people-at-higher-risk/pregnancy-and-coronavirus/ (2020年8月17日访问)

There have now been several global reports of babies born to women infected with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. The vast majority of these babies have not tested positive for the virus or experienced any breathing problems.

There have now been a few case reports which appear to show that the infection can pass from the pregnant woman to the unborn baby, across the placenta. In one report from France, a baby was born to a woman who became ill with COVID-19 in late pregnancy. Placenta and newborn samples tested positive for the virus. The baby developed some neurological symptoms three days after birth, but recovered well and was discharged from hospital. In another US report, a pregnant woman with diabetes contracted COVID-19, and again placental samples tested positive. The baby tested positive for the virus 1-2 days after birth and showed mild breathing problems but made a full recovery.

Cases of the virus being passed from pregnant women to their unborn babies appear to be rare. These two cases excluded the possibility of transfer of the virus after birth but in other reports, without thorough testing, whether the infection was passed on in the womb or after birth is less clear. Reassuringly, there are no reports of a newborn baby becoming seriously unwell from COVID-19.

 

Where did the story come from?

The Guardian was one of several news outlets that reported on the case report from Paris, France, which was published in the peer-reviewed science journal Nature Communications in mid-July.  Around the same time, Science News also reported a case in Texas, US.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The French study reports that a woman 35 weeks’ pregnant was admitted to hospital with breathing difficulties and tested positive for SARS-CoV-2. The baby boy was delivered by caesarean, and doctors took samples from the placenta and amniotic fluid surrounding the baby. They also tested the baby’s blood and fluid from his lungs when his breathing tube was removed. All samples tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 infection.

Although the baby did not seem unwell at first, three days after birth he developed symptoms of irritability, poor feeding and muscle spasms. A brain scan showed possible signs of inflammation, but samples of the fluid that surrounds the brain and spinal cord were negative for SARS-CoV-2 or other infective microorganisms. The baby received no specific treatment and recovered over the next few days.

In another US report, a pregnant woman positive for COVID-19 delivered prematurely at 34 weeks due to pregnancy complications of her diabetes. The placenta tested positive for SARS-CoV-2, though the baby girl was healthy. She did not test positive until 1-2 days after birth when she also developed mild breathing problems. She received oxygen but didn’t need ventilation, and made a full recovery.

Case studies only tell us about single incidents, which may be rare.  We do not know how many pregnant women, globally, have tested positive for COVID-19 at the time of delivery. Of them, we do not know what proportion of their newborns have also tested positive. These results show that the infection can be transferred across the placenta, though in other cases it has been difficult to know whether the infection was transferred in the womb or passed from mother to baby after birth. Regardless of the route of transmission, the main point is that all babies infected with COVID have made a full recovery.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The NHS website has useful information about COVID-19 and pregnancy. It states: ‘It may be possible for you to pass coronavirus to your baby before they are born. But when this has happened, the babies have got better. There’s no evidence coronavirus causes miscarriage or affects how your baby develops in pregnancy.’

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Vivanti, A.J., Vauloup-Fellous, C., Prevot, S. et al. Transplacental transmission of SARS-CoV-2 infection. Nat Commun 11, 3572 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-17436-6

 

Reading list

  1. Pregnancy and coronavirus. NHS.UK website https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/people-at-higher-risk/pregnancy-and-coronavirus/ (Accessed 17 August 2020)