上周有報導稱,在白宮中討論了一種具有高毒性的植物化學物質-夾竹桃酸酯作為COVID-19的潛在治療方法。

夾竹桃酸酯是夾竹桃中的一種化學物質,是一種觀賞性開花灌木或小樹。它是一種強心苷,一種可以增加心臟收縮速度和力量的化學物質。該特性已在地高辛(一種源自毛地黃植物的類似化學品)中得到利用。地高辛是一種許可藥物,仍然偶爾用於治療心律問題和心力衰竭。但是,服用它的人需要得到醫生的密切監視,因為它可能引起有毒甚至潛在的致命不良影響。

該消息發布之前,一項研究表明夾竹桃苷在實驗室中殺死了SARS-Cov2病毒。但是,其對病毒的影響尚未在動物中進行測試,在人類中則少得多。夾竹桃苷目前未獲得治療任何疾病的許可。過去有報導稱攝入夾竹桃葉或提取物的人中毒和死亡。

該化學物質的毒性性質意味著,沒有人應考慮使用夾竹桃植物的任何部分或由其製成的任何提取物進行自我藥物治療,以防止COVID-19或任何其他原因。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

今天的Medpage, ABC新聞談話 夾竹桃苷,其對新型冠狀病毒影響的最新研究以及報導的白宮討論的媒體媒體之一。的 實驗室研究 該問題已發表在預印本服務器bioRxiv上,尚未得到該領域其他專家的同行審閱,這意味著應謹慎對待其發現。

資訊有什麼依據?

含有夾竹桃苷的夾竹桃提取物已在實驗室和一些非常小的早期人體研究中進行了抗癌作用測試。最近,夾竹桃苷還被證明在實驗室中具有抗病毒作用。

因此,德克薩斯大學的研究人員以及一直在開髮夾竹桃苷用作藥物的公司(Phoenix Biotechnology,Inc.)想研究它是否會對SARS-CoV-2(引起COVID的病毒)產生影響-19。

在他們當前 實驗室研究 研究人員在暴露於SARS-CoV-2之前或之後向猴腎細胞添加了極低劑量的夾竹桃苷。研究人員發現夾竹桃苷可以減少感染細胞在48小時內產生的病毒數量(即使在低劑量下,夾竹桃苷也可以殺死一些細胞)。

這是非常早期的研究,夾竹桃苷尚未在暴露於動物或人類的動物中進行過測試
SARS-CoV-2,因此沒有證據表明它會產生有益的影響並且使用安全。

專家們強調了對缺乏證據的擔憂。范德比爾特大學醫學中心預防醫學和傳染病教授 陳述:“試管中發生的是一回事,人中發生的是另一回事”。多倫多森尼布魯克健康科學中心的另一位醫生 說摘錄 “肯定會殺死人。”

其他專家強調了攝入植物或提取物的人中毒的病例報告。例如, 一項研究 報告說有兩個人在食用被認為已經吃掉了蝸牛的蝸牛後住院; 另一個 一名年輕女子服用夾竹桃提取物。所有病例都因噁心,嘔吐和不規則的心律而變得嚴重不適,這是強心苷的已知毒性作用。

專家意見

據說美國食品藥品監督管理局拒絕就夾竹桃苷的報導發表評論 ABC新聞 “根據政策,FDA不會對潛在的產品應用發表評論,確認或拒絕。”

世衛組織未具體對夾竹桃苷進行評論,但他們的一般建議是:“儘管某些西方,傳統或家庭療法可提供舒適性並減輕輕度COVID-19的症狀,但尚無藥物可預防或治愈該病。世衛組織不建議自行使用任何藥物(包括抗生素)作為COVID-19的預防或治療藥物。”

斯隆·凱特琳紀念癌症中心在夾竹桃苷上的頁面突出了其潛在的風險,並說不應在臨床試驗之外使用它。

 

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

 引文

  1. Plante KS等。 夾竹桃苷對SARS-CoV-2體外複製的預防和治療抑製作用。 bioRxiv。 2020年1月

閱讀清單

  1. WHO。 冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的問答 2020年4月17日更新
  2. 斯隆·凱特琳紀念癌症中心。 夾竹桃素。 2020年8月19日更新

Last week there were reports that oleandrin, a highly toxic plant chemical, had been discussed in the White House as a potential treatment for COVID-19.

Oleandrin is a chemical found in oleander – an ornamental flowering shrub or small tree. It is a cardiac (heart) glycoside, a chemical which can increase the speed and force of heart contractions. This property has been harnessed in the drug digoxin, a similar chemical which is derived from the foxglove plant. Digoxin is a licensed medicine which is still occasionally used in the treatment of heart rhythm problems and heart failure. However, people taking it need to be very closely monitored by their doctors, as it can cause toxic and potentially fatal adverse effects.

The news follows a study showing that the oleandrin killed the SARS-Cov2 virus in the laboratory. However, its impact on the virus has not yet been tested in animals, much less in humans. Oleandrin is not currently licensed to treat any medical condition. There have been past reports of poisoning and death among people who have ingested oleander leaves or extracts.

The toxic nature of this chemical means that no one should consider self-medicating using any part of the oleander plant or any extract made from it to prevent COVID-19, or for any other reason.

Where did the story come from?

MedpageToday, ABC News and The Conversation are among several media sources to report on oleandrin, a recent study of its effects on the novel coronavirus, and the reported discussion of it in the White House. The laboratory study in question was published on the preprint server bioRxiv and has not been through peer-review by other experts in the field, meaning that its findings should be viewed with caution.

What is the basis for the claim?

Oleander extract containing oleandrin has been tested for anti-cancer effects in the laboratory and some very small, early stage studies in humans. More recently oleandrin had also been shown to have anti-viral effects in the laboratory.

So, researchers at the University of Texas, and the company that has been developing oleandrin for use as a drug (Phoenix Biotechnology, Inc.) wanted to study whether it might have an impact on SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19.

In their current laboratory study the researchers added very low doses of oleandrin to monkey kidney cells either before or after they were exposed to SARS-CoV-2. The researchers found that oleandrin could reduce the amount of virus produced by the infected cells over 48 hours (even at the low doses used oleandrin did also kill some of the cells).

This is very early stage research and oleandrin has not been tested in animals or humans exposed to
SARS-CoV-2, so there is no evidence that it would have a beneficial impact and be safe for such use.

Experts have highlighted concerns about the lack of evidence. A professor in preventive medicine and infectious disease from Vanderbilt University Medical Centre stated: “What happens in test tubes is one thing, what happens in people is another”. Another doctor from Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre in Toronto said the extract “would definitely end up killing people.”

Other experts highlight case reports of poisoning in people who had ingested the plant or extract. For example, one study reported on two people hospitalised after consuming snails thought to have eaten the plant; another involved a young woman who had taken an oleander extract. All cases became seriously unwell with nausea, vomiting and irregular heart rhythms – which are known toxic effects of cardiac glycosides.

What do trusted sources say?

The US Food and Drug Administration is said to have declined to comment on oleandrin telling ABC News “per policy, the FDA does not comment on, confirm or deny potential product applications.”

The WHO does not comment on oleandrin specifically, but their general advice is: “While some western, traditional or home remedies may provide comfort and alleviate symptoms of mild COVID-19, there are no medicines that have been shown to prevent or cure the disease. WHO does not recommend self-medication with any medicines, including antibiotics, as a prevention or cure for COVID-19.”

The Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre’s page on oleandrin highlights its potential risks and says that it should not be used outside of clinical trials.

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

 Citation

  1. Plante KS et al. Prophylactic and Therapeutic Inhibition of In Vitro SARS-CoV-2 Replication by Oleandrin. bioRxiv. 2020 Jan

Reading list

  1. WHO. Q&A on coronaviruses (COVID-19) Updated 17 April 2020
  2. Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Oleandrin. Updated 19 August 2020