我們的評估:

在準備好病毒拭子測試結果之前,人工智能(AI)模型可以排除到達醫院的人中的COVID-19感染。

牛津大學的研究人員使用了來自成年人超過115,000次醫院就診的數據和500萬例常規實驗室檢查的數據,以“訓練”一種算法來預測誰患有SARS-CoV-2(一種導致COVID-19的病毒)。

他們使用的信息可以在患者到達醫院一小時之內收集到。常規血液檢查和生命體徵(例如患者的呼吸頻率)提供了最有用的信息,並且此類信息用於構建他們的算法。在另一位入院的成年人中對該算法進行了測試,結果表明該算法在排除COVID-19方面表現良好,儘管它無法識別出每個感染者。

目前,對病毒進行拭子測試以確認COVID-19的結果可能需要24小時或更長時間才能到達。如果醫院可以在獲得檢測結果之前排除某些人的COVID-19,則可以使早期治療(以及感染控制的必要性)更加直接。這項研究仍需由專家審閱者進行檢查,在更廣泛地使用該算法之前,可能需要在其他環境中對該算法進行進一步的測試。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

每日郵件 是報導COVID-19的“新AI測試”的新聞媒體之一。信息來自牛津大學的約翰·拉德克利夫醫院,該醫院已經提供了他們的研究結果。 研究。該研究尚未在同行評審的期刊上發表,因此尚未經過專家審閱者的檢查,以確保方法和結果可靠。

資訊有什麼依據?

牛津大學的研究人員使用了所有常規收集的有關兩組人的醫療信息,這些人分別是急症室或急診(即非慢性病)的住院病人:

  • 在2017年12月1日至2019年12月1日之間參加的參與者,沒有人會獲得COVID-19(114,957人參加)
  • 在2019年12月1日至2020年4月19日之間參加的參與者,其COVID-19呈陽性測試(534出席者)

這些信息包括人們的年齡,性別和種族背景,以及諸如常規血液檢查結果,血氧水平和生命體徵(例如溫度,心率和呼吸)之類的基本信息。

他們將信息提供給計算機人工智能模型,以教其找出對病毒進行陽性檢測的人與未進行病毒檢測的人之間的信息模式差異。他們使用數據的80%來“訓練”算法,然後在剩餘的20%數據上測試算法。

當查看急診人員或住院患者時,該模型可以正確識別出帶有該病毒的人的77%,並正確識別出沒有該病毒的人的95%。這些結果意味著,如果該算法預測一個人沒有SARS-CoV-2,醫生可能會確定他們沒有SARTP-CoV-2。

在“培訓”期過後,研究人員根據從2020年4月20日至5月6日就診的所有患者收集的數據對模型進行了測試,以查看該模型如何預測誰對SARS-CoV-2呈陽性。該樣本包括3326人到急診科和1715人到醫院就診。在這些樣本中,該算法的效果也很好,超過97%的那些算法聲稱沒有COVID-19的人的確對SARS-CoV-2呈陰性。

專家意見

由於這是早期研究,尚待專家進行同行評審,因此沒有官方機構對此研究發表評論。

該算法將需要進一步測試,以確定它是否可以在其他醫院和其他環境(例如在不同的國家)的患者上以及在感染率變化的較長時間段內類似地起作用。

醫生還需要考慮該算法在其設置中的有用性,以及該算法及其結果如何納入他們的測試和感染控製過程。例如,由於該算法確實錯過了一些COVID-19的患者,醫生將需要決定是否仍然使用拭子測試來識別該算法所錯過的人群,並決定在管理預計感染該病毒的患者時應採用哪種感染控制措施。對於算法上的COVID-19為負。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

引文

  1. Soltan AS等。人工智能驅動的對常規收集的醫療數據的評估是對就診患者的COVID-19的有效篩選測試。預印本可在medRxiv 2020.07.07.20148361上找到;土井: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.07.07.20148361 (於2020年8月25日訪問)。

Our assessment:

An artificial intelligence (AI) model may be able to rule out COVID-19 infection among people arriving at the hospital, before the results of virus swab tests are ready.

Researchers at Oxford University used data from more than 115,000 hospital visits by adults and five million routine laboratory tests, to ‘train’ an algorithm to predict who had SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19.

They used information which could be gathered within one hour of the patient arriving at the hospital. Routine blood tests and vital signs (such as how fast the patient was breathing) gave the most useful information and this type of information was used to build their algorithm. Testing the algorithm on a further sample of adults attending the hospital suggested it performed well at ruling out COVID-19, although it doesn’t identify everyone who has an infection.

At present, results of swab tests for the virus to confirm COVID-19 can take 24 hours or more to arrive. If hospitals could rule out COVID-19 in some people before test results were available, it could make early treatment (and the need for infection control) more straightforward. The study still needs to be checked by expert reviewers, and further tests of the algorithm in other settings are likely to be needed before it can be more widely used.

Where did the story come from?

The Daily Mail was one of the news outlets that reported on the ‘new AI test’ for COVID-19. The information came from Oxford University’s John Radcliffe Hospital, which has made available the results of their study. The study has not yet been published in a peer-reviewed journal, so it has not been checked by expert reviewers to make sure the methods and results are reliable.

What is the basis for the claim?

The researchers at Oxford University used all routinely-collected medical information about two groups of people attending the accident and emergency department, or admitted to the hospital for care of an acute (i.e. not chronic) condition:

  • those attending between 1 December 2017 and 1 December 2019, none of whom would have had COVID-19 (114,957 attendances)
  • those attending between 1 December 2019 and 19 April 2020, who had a positive test for COVID-19 (534 attendances)

The information included people’s age, sex and ethnic background, as well as basic information such as results of routine blood tests, blood oxygen levels, and vital signs, such as temperature, heart rate and breathing.

They fed the information to a computer artificial intelligence model, to teach it to spot differences in patterns of information between people who had positive tests for the virus, and people who had not had the virus. They used 80% of the data to “train” the algorithm and then tested the algorithm on the remaining 20% of the data.

When looking at either people presenting to the emergency department, or those admitted to hospital, the model correctly identified 77% of people who had the virus, and correctly identified around 95% of those who did not have the virus. These results meant that if the algorithm predicted that a person did not have SARS-CoV-2, doctors could be over 99% sure that they didn’t have it.

After this ‘training’ period, the researchers tested the model on data collected from all patients who had attended the hospital from April 20 to May 6, 2020, to see how well the model could predict who tested positive for SARS-CoV-2. This sample included 3,326 people who attended the emergency department and 1,715 people who were admitted to the hospital. In these samples, the algorithm also performed well, and over 97% of those who the algorithm said did not have COVID-19 did turn out to test negative for SARS-CoV-2.

What do trusted sources say?

As this is early-stage research, which is still awaiting peer-review by experts, no official bodies have commented on the study.

The algorithm will need further testing to determine whether it works similarly on patients in other hospitals and in other settings (such as in different countries) and over longer periods of time as infection rates vary.

Doctors will also need to think about how useful the algorithm would be in their setting, and how the algorithm and its results might be incorporated into their testing and infection control processes. For example, as the algorithm does miss some individuals with COVID-19, doctors would need to decide whether to still use swab testing to identify those who are missed by the algorithm and to decide what infection control measures would be appropriate when managing patients predicted to be negative for COVID-19 on the algorithm.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Soltan AS et al. Artificial intelligence driven assessment of routinely collected healthcare data is an effective screening test for COVID-19 in patients presenting to hospital. Pre-print available on medRxiv 2020.07.07.20148361; doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.07.07.20148361 (Accessed 25 August 2020).