與所有病毒一樣,Sars-CoV-2能夠改變其遺傳密碼及其在我們體內的行為方式。由於對該病毒的研究如此深入—一種稱為系統動力學的學科—當前的突變比以往任何時候都受到越來越多的審查。實際上,這種病毒自首次被發現以來可能已經變異了許多次,只是因為我們的測試已在全世界廣泛推廣,所以我們才逐漸對其進行檢測。

實際上,Covid-19的某些變體毒性較小,並且可能沒有任何不利後果。政府之所以如此關注這種新病毒,是因為人們更容易在人與人之間傳播,因此人們被感染的可能性更大。到目前為止,沒有證據表明這會導致人們在較短的時間內患病更多。但是,如果更多的人被感染,這將給我們的醫療系統帶來巨大壓力。

目前尚不清楚病毒生物學的這一特定變化是否會影響疾病的進展,但它很可能會影響傳播-捕獲它已變得更加容易,但我們身體的反應方式仍然相同。因此基本建議沒有改變-定期洗手,遮住臉並與他人保持社交距離。

實際上,這種突變使病毒更容易鎖定在人類細胞上,然後進入。英格蘭公共衛生組織表示,新的變異體包括刺突蛋白的突變1 –這些是您可以看到的從冠狀病毒圖像外部突出的尖峰,並有助於它們感染人細胞。這意味著它可以更輕鬆地在人與人之間傳播,這就是所謂的“傳輸優勢”-根據某些報告,它可以更快地提高70%。

刺突蛋白基因目前大約有4,000個突變2。英國Covid-19基因組學協會(COG-UK)表示,在得出任何肯定的結論之前,必須對突變基因進行正確的研究至關重要,而且測試“成千上萬種突變組合的效果”將花費大量時間和精力。 '。3

但是,由於到目前為止,所有成功的疫苗都已在不同病毒株的混合物上進行了測試,這意味著(儘管不確定)其有效性仍然很強。

通過產生B細胞和T細胞抗體來增強免疫系統。前者就像製導導彈一樣,可以鎖定病毒並幫助銷毀它們。後者是引導這些導彈的雷達,檢查身體的健康狀況,然後作為預警系統。測量B細胞反應更容易,但Covid疫苗會刺激兩種類型的免疫,這應該使每個人都充滿信心。

病毒適應和進化是正常的。考慮到數以百萬計的人已經被它感染,這是標準的進化行為。大多數變異不會很重要,也不會給人們的生活帶來比目前更大的危險。

GF Media與傳播諮詢公司合作

 

參考文獻

  1. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/phe-investigating-a-novel-variant-of-covid-19
  2. https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/publications-data/threat-assessment-brief-rapid-increase-sars-cov-2-variant-united-kingdom
  3. https://www.cogconsortium.uk/news_item/persistent-sars-cov-2-infection-and-viral-evolution-tracked-in-an-immunocompromised-patient/

Like all viruses, Sars-CoV-2 is capable of changing its genetic code and the way that it behaves in our bodies. Because this virus is being studied so intensely – a discipline known as phylodynamics – the current mutations are receiving more scrutiny than ever. In fact, this virus has probably mutated many times since it was first spotted, it’s just that we are only gradually detecting them because testing has been rolled out into broad populations throughout the world.

In fact, some variants of Covid-19 are less virulent and may have no adverse consequences whatsoever. The reason why the government is so concerned about the new strain is that there is a greater chance of people becoming infected because it spreads between people far more easily. There is no evidence – so far – that it causes people to become more ill in a shorter period of time. However, if more people become infected that will put enormous strains on our healthcare system.

It isn’t yet clear if this specific change in virus biology affects disease progression but it is more likely that it affects transmission – catching it has become easier but the way our bodies react remains the same. So the basic advice hasn’t changed – wash hands regularly, cover your face and socially distance yourself from others.

In effect, the mutation makes it easier for the virus to latch on to human cells and then gain entry. Public Health England has said the new variant includes a mutation in the spike protein1 – these are the spikes that you can see protruding from the outside of coronavirus images and which help them infect human cells. This means that it can spread more easily between people, what’s known as ‘transmission advantage’ – up to 70 percent more quickly according to some reports.

There are currently around 4,000 mutations in the spike protein gene2. The Covid-19 Genomics UK (COG-UK) consortium says it is vital to allow proper study of mutated genes before coming to any firm conclusions and that it would take ‘considerable time and effort to test the effect of many thousands of combinations of mutations’.3

However, because all of the successful vaccines so far have been tested on a mixture of different virus strains it means that it is highly likely – though not certain – that their effectiveness is still strong.

The immune system is strengthened by producing B-cell and T-cell antibodies. The former are like guided missiles which latch on to viruses and help to destroy them. The latter are the radar guiding those missiles, checking up on the body’s health and then acting as an early warning system. It’s easier to measure B-cell responses but the Covid vaccines stimulate both types of immunity, which should give everyone great confidence.

It’s normal for a virus to adapt and evolve; it’s standard evolutionary behaviour considering that millions of people have been infected by it. Most mutations will not be significant or put people’s lives in any more danger than they currently are.

In association with communications consultancy, GF Media

 

References

  1. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/phe-investigating-a-novel-variant-of-covid-19
  2. https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/publications-data/threat-assessment-brief-rapid-increase-sars-cov-2-variant-united-kingdom
  3. https://www.cogconsortium.uk/news_item/persistent-sars-cov-2-infection-and-viral-evolution-tracked-in-an-immunocompromised-patient/