英國監管機構已正式批准輝瑞/ BioNTech,牛津/ Astra Zeneca和Moderna Covid疫苗1,2,3.

陰謀論認為疫苗會改變您的DNA –這是不正確的,並且也無法識別疫苗的工作原理。這些疫苗中的前兩種被稱為mRNA注射。傳統疫苗使用弱化形式的病毒蛋白(抗原)來產生保護性免疫反應。相比之下,這些基於mRNA的刺戳則使用了該病毒的一部分遺傳密碼-一種分子被引入體內,告訴細胞產生冠狀病毒刺突蛋白或抗原。一旦被免疫系統識別,就會產生抗體和T細胞來抵抗感染。免疫是在第一次注射後的12天建立的,而在第二次注射後的一周,即第一次刺戳之後的28天,則具有完全的免疫力。科學家認為,半劑量可以“啟動”免疫系統,第二次全劑量可以增強免疫系統。

牛津大學的疫苗是基於一種無害的感冒病毒,該病毒已在實驗室進行了修改,以模仿冠狀病毒進入人體時的行為,從而激發免疫系統中相同的抵抗感染的反應。科學家認為,這種刺戳至少應該給予一年的保護,這表明每個人都需要每年接種一次疫苗。

這些療法的批准速度是不尋常的,但是科學家從多年研究類似的SARS和MERS冠狀病毒中受益。另外,由於有這麼多的志願者,研究組織和製藥公司合作,因此試驗進行得更快。他們都遵循與刺戳相同的安全程序4。到目前為止,尚無證據表明任何審判均造成一人死亡。像所有藥物一樣,它也有副作用,但估計某人對疫苗產生嚴重過敏反應的可能性約為百萬分之一,低於死于冠狀病毒的風險。5

關於這些疫苗的成分還存在誤導信息,包括有關汞,防凍劑和胎兒組織等成分的恐怖故事-所有這些都是不真實的。所有成分都是安全的,已經使用了數十年。例如,鋁鹽(存在於空氣和水中)會增強人體的免疫反應,從而使疫苗更有效,而極少量的甲醛(已經存在於我們的血液中)則可以使病毒失活。

要了解有關開發疫苗的更多信息,請閱讀我們的 問答環節 (寫於6月1日, 2020)

 GF Media與傳播諮詢公司合作

 

參考文獻

  1. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/uk-medicines-regulator-gives-approval-for-first-uk-covid-19-vaccine
  2. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/oxford-universityastrazeneca-vaccine-authorised-by-uk-medicines-regulator
  3. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/moderna-covid-19-vaccine-authorised-by-uk-medicines-regulator
  4. https://www.who.int/vaccine_safety/initiative/tech_support/Part-1.pdf
  5. https://www.bmj.com/content/371/bmj.m4780

UK regulatory agencies have officially approved the Pfizer/BioNTech, Oxford/Astra Zeneca and Moderna Covid vaccines1,2,3.

Conspiracy theories suggest the vaccines alter your DNA – these are untrue and also fail to recognise how vaccines work. The first two of those vaccines are known as mRNA injections. Traditional vaccines use a weakened form of the virus protein (antigen) to create a protective immune response. In contrast, these mRNA-based jabs use a piece of the genetic code of the virus – a molecule is introduced into the body which tells cells to produce a coronavirus spike protein, or antigen. Once this is recognised by the immune system, antibodies and T-cells are produced to fight infection. Immunity is built 12 days after the first dose with full immunity a week after the second dose, which comes 28 days after the first jab. Scientists believe a half dose ‘primes’ the immune system and the second full dose boosts protection.

The Oxford University vaccine is based upon a harmless cold virus that has been modified in the laboratory to mimic the behaviour of coronavirus when it enters the body, inspiring the same infection-fighting response in the immune system. Scientists believe this jab should give at least a year’s protection, suggesting everyone will need an annual vaccine.

The speed with which these treatments have been approved is unusual but scientists have benefited from years of studying the similar SARS and MERS coronaviruses. In addition, trials have been conducted more rapidly because there have been so many volunteers, research organisations and pharmaceutical companies collaborating. They’ve all followed  the same safety procedures as any jab4. So far, there is no evidence that any trial caused a single death. Like all medicines, there are side effects but there’s an estimated 1 in 1 million chance of someone having a severe allergic reaction to a vaccine, lower than the risk of dying from coronavirus.5

There’s also been misinformation about what goes into these vaccines, including scare stories about ingredients like mercury, antifreeze and foetus tissue – all untrue. All ingredients are safe and have been used for decades. For instance, aluminium salts (present in air and water) boost the body’s immune response and so make vaccines more effective, whilst tiny amounts of formaldehyde (already present in our bloodstream) are used to inactivate a virus.

To learn more about the journey of developing a vaccine, read our Q&A (written June 1st, 2020)

 In association with communications consultancy, GF Media

 

References

  1. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/uk-medicines-regulator-gives-approval-for-first-uk-covid-19-vaccine
  2. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/oxford-universityastrazeneca-vaccine-authorised-by-uk-medicines-regulator
  3. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/moderna-covid-19-vaccine-authorised-by-uk-medicines-regulator
  4. https://www.who.int/vaccine_safety/initiative/tech_support/Part-1.pdf
  5. https://www.bmj.com/content/371/bmj.m4780