关于COVID-19 Facts

 

新型冠状病毒的传播引发了全球媒体的高度关注,消费者因此对COVID-19以及“信息疫情”的担忧也是可以理解的。出于对此次疫情风险的担忧,以及对公共卫生的挑战规模,寻求如何保护自己和预防病毒的信息的人数大幅增加。

消费者们会在网络上搜索针对疫情需要采取的措施。然而,并非所有的信息都是建立在健全的科学基础上的。一些信息空白导致了错误信息、误解以及谣言的产生,这些信息来源缺乏提供权威评论的可信度。

尽管医学界一致认为没有治愈COVID-19(新冠肺炎)的方法,但通过各种社会渠道自称专家和权威人士的人无处不在,并在不断地发表预防或治疗病毒的方法;从使用少量漂白剂或抗菌液体到散播恐慌,一切都变得司空见惯。

这类错误的信息,误解和谣言有可能导致有害公共卫生的结果,并限制了人们采取公共卫生专家建议的合理预防措施。

COVID-19 facts的目的是为了提供准确可靠的信息,以打破社交媒体平台上越来越流行的谣言。

About COVID-19 Facts

 

There is significant global media attention on the spread of Coronavirus, which has led to justifiable consumer concern about the risks from COVID-19 and an ‘Infodemic’. Fears about the risks from this outbreak, and the scale of the public health challenge, have resulted in a significant increase in people seeking information about what to do to protect and prevent the virus.

Consumers are searching online sources for guidance on what they should do. However, not all information is based on sound science. The information void has led to the occurrence of misinformation, misperceptions and myths propagated by sources that lack the credibility to provide authoritative comment.

Despite the consensus amongst the medical community that there exists no cure for COVID-19, self-proclaimed experts and pundits across a variety of social channels are pervasive and are perpetuating ways to protect against or cure the virus. Everything from consuming bleach or antibacterial liquids in small doses to fearmongering is becoming commonplace.

The misinformation, misperceptions and myths have the potential to lead to harmful public health outcomes and significantly limit the adoption of evidence-based prevention measures as advised by leading public health experts.

The aim of COVID-19 facts is to provide accurate and credible information to counter myths that are gaining traction on social media platforms.