О сайте COVID-19 Facts (Факты о COVID-19)

 

Большое внимание СМИ во всем мире уделяется распространению коронавируса, это приводит к обоснованному беспокойству потребителей о рисках и угрозах, связанных с COVID-19. Опасения относительно рисков этой вспышки и масштабов проблем общественного здравоохранения привели к значительному увеличению числа людей, которые ищут информацию о том, как защититься от вируса.

Потребители ищут в Интернете рекомендации о том, что им следует делать. Однако не вся информация научно подтверждена. Информационная пустота привела к появлению дезинформации, заблуждений и мифов.

Несмотря на единое мнение медицинского сообщества о том, что на данный момент не существует вакцины от COVID-19, самопровозглашенные эксперты распространяют информацию о методах лечения короновируса. Градус паники нагнетается и ничто уже не удивляет, будь то даже рекомендации употреблять отбеливатель или антибактериальные жидкости в небольших дозах.

Дезинформация, неправильное восприятие информации и мифы могут привести общественное здравоохранение к печальным последствиям, так как профилактические меры, рекомендованные экспертами, не воспринимаются должным образом.

Целью сайта COVID-19 Facts (Факты о COVID-19) является предоставление точной и достоверной информации, которая развеет мифы, набирающие популярность в Интернете.

About COVID-19 Facts

 

There is significant global media attention on the spread of Coronavirus, which has led to justifiable consumer concern about the risks from COVID-19 and an ‘Infodemic’. Fears about the risks from this outbreak, and the scale of the public health challenge, have resulted in a significant increase in people seeking information about what to do to protect and prevent the virus.

Consumers are searching online sources for guidance on what they should do. However, not all information is based on sound science. The information void has led to the occurrence of misinformation, misperceptions and myths propagated by sources that lack the credibility to provide authoritative comment.

Despite the consensus amongst the medical community that there exists no cure for COVID-19, self-proclaimed experts and pundits across a variety of social channels are pervasive and are perpetuating ways to protect against or cure the virus. Everything from consuming bleach or antibacterial liquids in small doses to fearmongering is becoming commonplace.

The misinformation, misperceptions and myths have the potential to lead to harmful public health outcomes and significantly limit the adoption of evidence-based prevention measures as advised by leading public health experts.

The aim of COVID-19 facts is to provide accurate and credible information to counter myths that are gaining traction on social media platforms.